A Spark of Kindness

29 Jan

Is it easier to be kind or unkind? Depends on what day you are asking me. {grin} If I’m being honest I will tell you that some times, I find it quite challenging to be kind . . . especially in response to unkind behavior from someone else.

Isn’t it amazing how someone else’s mood can influence our own? All it takes is someone being snippy, rude, or simply mean and my initial reaction wants to be (and regretfully sometimes is) snippy, rude, or mean.

kindness

But when I think about some of the moments that truly have put a burst of sunshine in my day – that have put an unexpected smile on my face – they were moments when someone expressed kindness to me. A stranger goes out of their way to hold a door open for me. A car lets me merge in front of them on my way to work. A shopper allows me and my three items go ahead of them and their cart full of groceries. Six Publix employees all ask if they can help me – and mean it. (I’m calling out Publix here because this kind of thing really happens and we all know this kind of thing just doesn’t happen at  Walmart! Truth? Truth.). A friend calls or sends a note just to let me know they are thinking of me.

If simple acts of kindness can make me feel great, they must do the same for others. And if simple acts of kindness can make others feel great, why wouldn’t I go out of my way to bring a little burst of sunshine into their day?

Being kind does not have to be some grand, elaborate gesture that takes enormous planning and expense. Being kind is simple. It’s a word. A smile. An open door. A listening ear. A hug. A note. The list of kind “sparks” is endless.

I challenge you to think of one way you can be kind to someone today. You have to initiate a kind action. You will get bonus points for being kind to someone who has been unkind to you in the past.

Get rid of all bitterness, rage, anger,
harsh words, and slander,
as well as all types of evil behavior.
Instead, be kind to each other,
tenderhearted, forgiving one another,
just as God through Christ has forgiven you.
Ephesians 4:31-32

Blessings!
♥Rachel

3 Responses to “A Spark of Kindness”

  1. Facing Cancer Together January 29, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

    Challenge accepted. I try to be kind in general, and today I’ll attempt to be more aware of the opportunities. ~Catherine

  2. Molly January 30, 2013 at 5:11 pm #

    Excellent post :) One I definitely plan to take to heart. Hope you’re doing well Rachel.

    • rachturner February 2, 2013 at 9:15 pm #

      I am, Molly! I hope you and your family are well, too!

Leave a Reply

