An Antidote for Worry

22 Jan

Would you like to be able to see into your future, to know how everything is going to turn out? Not me! I prefer ignorant bliss. {grin} Well. Not really. Maybe about some things, but when it comes to most things I just want to KNOW.

corrie-ten-boom

There have been numerous times since my cancer diagnosis when I wished I knew the results of the CT scan or the biopsy without having to wait. And then there’s the persistent question of when will I relapse and the cancer show back up?

You likely have similar worries and anxieties. Some of them trouble you so much they keep you up at night wondering what will happen and when will it happen.

When we worry, we think knowing the outcome would cause us to worry less, but that’s just not true. Knowing the outcome would cause us to worry in anticipation of what we now know is going to happen. It’s a vicious cycle.

I heard a song in the car the other day and the words of it spoke to my heart so strongly that it brought tears to my eyes. It’s Already There by Casting Crowns. As I let the words sink in and thought about the truth in them, I took a deep breath and relaxed.

When I’m lost in the mystery
To You my future is a memory
Cause You’re already there
You’re already there
Standing at the end of my life
Waiting on the other side
And You’re already there
You’re already there

God’s already there. No matter what we go through, how hard the struggles are or terrifying the news is – He’s there. There is nothing that will happen to you today, tomorrow, or in 30 years that God does not already know about. He is not surprised by anything, no matter how horrific or earth-shattering it is to you.

He’s already in the midst of every good and bad day you will have for the rest of your life.

We can worry about anything and everything if we choose. Or we can relax in the knowledge that we aren’t going to have to walk through any valleys alone.

You can listen to the song, below. I pray if you are feeling anxious or worried today that these words help to calm your spirit and fill your heart with hope.

{If you are reading this in email,
you may need to click over to the blog to watch the video.}

Blessings,
♥Rachel

2 Responses to “An Antidote for Worry”

  1. Cancer Warrior January 23, 2013 at 5:51 pm #

    That song is sooooooo moving! Thanks for sharing.

    • rachturner January 24, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

      Isn’t it? It really speaks to me during this phase of my life. Hope you are well, Flo!

Leave a Reply

