A Better You in 2013: My Favorite Beauty Products

1 Jan

Happy New Year! I hope today is the first day of a truly fantastic year for you, full of enough joy and laughter to make the tough moments more bearable.

78463678

I’m not a big “beauty” person. I don’t spend a lot of money on makeup, don’t think I take an excessive amount of time getting ready in the morning (in fact, I hate the routine and the amount of time it does take), and I don’t obsess about how I look. However, there are some beauty-related products that I LOVE and I thought you might like them, as well.

1. Sally Hansen Cuticle Massage Cream

SHTN_2245_CtclMssgCrm_Ctn_275

This cuticle cream is quite literally, a miracle worker. I have the worst cuticles in the world – dry, brittle, and just horrible looking and feeling. It only takes one or two applications of this cream to get them looking and feeling gorgeous. The kicker is that you have to use it regularly. You can’t use it until they look nice and then stop. It works best if you use it on a regular basis. If you suffer from Ugly Cuticle Disease like I do, give it a try – you will love what it does for your nails.

2. Mac Lipstick in Frou

M2LN04

This color goes with everything and I’ve seen people on Pinterest say it looks good on everyone. I can’t vouch for that because I’m just one gal, but I can say that it looks great on and really does complement virtually any outfit. Plus, it’s Mac so it feels great on your lips.

3. Suave Dry Shampoo

DryShampooSpray_Large137-89959

I started using this when I went through my first-line chemotherapy treatments. My hair did not completely fall out, but it did thin significantly. Thankfully, I have ultra-thick hair naturally and it was not noticeable, but I tried to be as gentle as possible to my hair during this time to prevent the loss of any more. Even though I’m back to my normal, ridiculously thick hair, I still like to use it every now and then when I’m in a hurry and don’t have time to wash and dry my hair. This stuff smells great and allows me to skip a day of washing while still having decent looking hair.

4. Clarisonic Mia Sonic Skin Cleansing System

mia_all13colors_400x234_11112011

This was something that I’ve wanted for a while. Now that I’m deeply entrenched in my forties, my skin is really showing my age (and then some, I think!). {You know what’s really interesting? I had great looking skin when I went through my first-line chemo – did that happen to anyone else??} But now that I’m “just” doing maintenance, my skin has gone back to it’s dull, lifeless self. That was, until I started using the Clarisonic. This miracle brush makes my skin ridiculously soft. And the bonus is that it works great on your neck and hands, too. I’ve only been using it for about a month, but I am positive the age spots that were beginning to show up on the back of my hands are starting to fade. I’m not kidding! :)

5. Sonicare Essence Rechargeable Toothbrush

HX5610_04-RTP-global-001_lowres

I never, ever, ever dreamed a toothbrush could work as well as this does. Our dental hygienist has told us for years that we should use an electric one (a good electric one, not one of those spin-type brushes you can get for $10 at the drugstore) because it helps promote gum health. Neither Barry or I liked it at first. It felt weird and tickled when we used it. But after several days, we got used to the feel. I can honestly say that my teeth feel and look cleaner. I didn’t tell my hygienist I was using it when I went in for my last cleaning and she commented on how great my teeth and gums looked! It works.

6. Aladdin 16 oz Double Wall Water Vessel

41sYSKwt+4L._SY450_

Drinking water is one of the keys to healthy skin and a healthy you. This water bottle is ingenious. It has a small screw-on cap that you can take off when you want to drink from it. It also has a larger screw-on top that allows you to get ice cubes into the bottle. This was a Christmas gift from one of my stepdaughters and I love it – brilliant design in a convenient, spill-proof bottle.

Have a beauty-full New Year!
Rachel

One Response to “A Better You in 2013: My Favorite Beauty Products”

  1. painterfrances January 1, 2013 at 2:17 pm #

    I can use everyone of these items, am going to buy the Suave Dry Shampoo right now. I have been thinking about the Sonic toothbrush for a long time, hoping they would reduce the price, and I think they have a little bit. I love Mac lipsticks, but don’t know where they sell it, now that I am not in Augusta anymore…they sold it in Macy’s there. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

