Farewell 2012 and a Big, Fat Thanks!

31 Dec

We’ve come to the end of another year. 52 weeks of life, love, celebrations, and tears. 365 days of waking and sleeping, praying and hoping, living joyfully and struggling to make sense all wrapped up in one 12-month package called 2012.

143059725632906131_EBJCxkuh_c

It’s been a good year around our home. My maintenance chemo treatments went smoothly and I’m halfway through the 2-year plan. Outside of a lingering cough & ear congestion that has stuck with me for the entire month of December (uugghh…), I’m feeling pretty good. I truly hope the highs of your year outweighed the lows and that you experienced more joy than heartache.

I received a summary of interesting stats about this blog and thought some of them were worth sharing with you guys.

It seems that people who search for and find my blog do so after searching for “blessings in disguise,” “cancer,” “lymphoma,” or “sweet potato casserole.” Sweet potato casserole?? Yep. You guys like food. :) Apparently, the Thanksgiving Favorites post was one of the most viewed posts on the site, along with these other five posts from the year:

1. Courage Does Not Always Roar

Courage comes in all shapes and sizes, no doubt.  Many things that we assume require courage actually do not.  For example, having cancer requires no courage at all, yet people say to me that I am courageous.  Going through treatment does not make me courageous, it makes me hungry…for life.  It makes me desperate to do whatever I can to make sure I get to live the full life that I hope has been planned for me.  It does not make me courageous, it simply makes me willing. {Read more…}

2. Best Oatmeal Cookies I’ve Ever Had

If you like oatmeal cookies, you will want to make these someday soon.  I’m not kidding.  They are amazing – if you like thick, soft, chewy cookies.  They are especially tasty when they are warm.  I’m in love.  :)  This recipe comes from Deb at Smitten Kitchen.  I’d heard of her blog before this week and even took a look at it before, but here’s a confession.  {Read more…}

3. September is Blood Cancer Awareness Month

Four months ago, the fact that this month is Leukemia, Lymphoma, and Myeloma Awareness Month would have meant nothing to me. (Leukemia, Lymphoma, and Myeloma are classified as blood cancers.) If I heard it on TV or saw it online or in print somewhere, I would have breezed right past it without stopping to give it a second glance.  Well, the times, they are a changin’!  {Read more…}

4. What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger

There are few things that touch my heart more than a child with cancer.  God must give parents whose children have cancer a very special strength because I can’t imagine the pain of watching your child suffer and fight this horrific disease.  There are numerous hospitals around the country that specialize in treating childhood cancer, but there are some that stand out from the rest.  {Read more…}

5. Amazing Grace

Yesterday, we started talking about grace.  The word grace is a big, bold word when you stop and think about it.  It has multiple meanings and can be used in a variety of ways.  But what does grace really mean and how does it apply to our lives?  What does grace really mean?  The word “grace” actually means a lot of things.  {Read more…}

In addition to the riveting knowledge that hungry people like my blog {grin}, the report also told me that you guys are visiting from more than 140 countries. What?? Seriously. How humbling and so incredibly cool.

It’s been a terrific year here on the blog – thanks to each of YOU! I am incredibly grateful that you share a few minutes of your day with me and allow me to blabber on about various things that are sometimes interesting, sometimes silly, but always heart-felt. I appreciate each and every one of you!

Oh, and for a Diet Dr. Pepper update – I splurged on Christmas Day and had one! That’s the only one I’ve had and I really haven’t craved it or wanted to have another one since then. So, I’ve had one Diet Dr. Pepper in the past 62 days. That’s about oh, I don’t know, maybe 70-75 less than I would have had if I were still drinking them. I call that progress. :)

Blessings to you for 2013!
Rachel

7 Responses to “Farewell 2012 and a Big, Fat Thanks!”

  1. Cancer Warrior December 31, 2012 at 8:21 am #

    Way to go Rachel! I was surprised with some of my blog stats as well….in particular, one of the top searches was “Demi Moore”….as I spoke of her bald phase when my hair was growing back.

  2. Cancer Warrior December 31, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    Oh….and congrats on the Dr. Pepper thing…it has been nearly a year since I had a Diet Coke. I used to guzzle down 2 or 3 cans a day. I had a few sips on one at Christmas and it was just like a volcano going off in my belly! My body seems to be rejecting diet coke….now if only it would do the same for wine and coffee:)

    • rachturner December 31, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

      Makes you realize how bad they are for us when your stomach “rejects” it like that. Happy New Year, Florence! Hope you have a beautiful year in 2013!!

  3. Facing Cancer Together December 31, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

    Happy New Year to you, Rachel. Good job with the Dr. Pepper – and what interesting stats. You must make some great sweet potato casserole ;) ~Catherine

  4. The Savvy Sister January 1, 2013 at 10:10 am #

    Nappy New Year Rachel! Thanks for a year of great blogging!

    • rachturner January 2, 2013 at 6:46 pm #

      I think a “Nappy” New Year is my kind of New Year!

Leave a Reply

