Christmas Scripture Reading – Day 20 + Treatment Update

20 Dec

Oh my gosh – we only have six days left in our 25-Day Christmas Reading Plan! I’m sad already. :( This also means we have only six days until Christmas – oh my!! :)

Yesterday’s treatment went well – didn’t have any complications other than a wicked crazy cough that’s come on strong since Monday. My monocyte count was up to 17.3 (normal range is 1.7 – 9.3), so it got flagged on the lab report with a yellow highlighter. Special!  I was concerned that would cause him to postpone treatment AGAIN, but it did not. My other counts were ok, most on the low side of ok, but still ok, so he was comfortable moving forward. He feels the count is connected to the infection I’ve been fighting for the past three weeks.

It is almost surreal to walk into the treatment center after being away from there for 10 weeks (even longer than usual because of the past two weeks getting postponed). As we walked through the doors, I could feel my heart rate quicken and a sense of anxiety sort of lay over me. I do a pretty good job most days of forgetting I even have to deal with cancer, but going there, seeing Dr. Daniel and then getting treatment makes it all so real again. It’s still good, though. I feel good (except for this stinking cough!) and I’m so grateful for my doctors, the fabulous nurses, and the drugs that are punching cancer in the face. {grin}

105764291220697209_6dqGFL1g_c

Today’s reading is the first Chapter of John. Click on any of the links below to be taken to the passages at BibleGateway.com.

The striking part of this passage to me was the realization that Jesus was a part of God’s plan since the beginning of time. He wasn’t an afterthought or something God “threw together” to save the world, he was a plan. God always intended to send his son to save us, to offer us hope and grace and mercy.

You know what this says to me? God has my life planned, too. He doesn’t react to things in a haphazard way. He doesn’t swoop in and save the day at the last minute when all other options have failed. He has a plan for me and my future and it’s a good one.

The same is true for you. :) Your life was planned before you were ever formed in your mama’s tummy. Don’t think all your good days are behind you – there are PLENTY of great things in your future. God creates good, he plans good things, he is true to his word. Believe it!

Have a great day, friends!
Rachel

2 Responses to “Christmas Scripture Reading – Day 20 + Treatment Update”

  1. The Savvy Sister December 20, 2012 at 7:43 am #

    I wish I could double-like this one Rachel!

    • rachturner December 20, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

      :) Merry Christmas, Susan! I hope you have a lovely holiday.

Leave a Reply

