Christmas Scripture Reading – Day 17

17 Dec

Did you find it hard this weekend to stop thinking about those babies? I sure did. My mind has been filled with thoughts of parent-child love this weekend, how strong those bonds are, and how much it must grieve a parent to lose a child.  I couldn’t watch much of the news – it was too much. But then I thought about the families who are living it, they can’t just shut off the TV and walk away from the pain. Those moms and dads are living a nightmare worse than they could have ever imagined. It’s just so incredibly sad.

Times like this make me even more grateful for this 25-Day Christmas Scripture Reading because it reminds me that while this life is short and, sometimes, full of overwhelming pain that we have a spiritual future that will be free from pain and suffering. And the reason we have that promise is because of the birth of Jesus, which we are celebrating this month.

105764291220741110_n0E7M3pN_c

We are on Day 17 of our plan today. Click on any of the links below to be taken to the passages at BibleGateway.com.

Today’s reading has a very simple message: we are children of God. He is our Heavenly Father and we are his sons and daughters. We are heirs to the throne of grace.

I don’t know about you, but that comforts me and it also humbles me. To think that God, himself, has granted me the privilege of being his own child is amazing. The fact that he gave me this gift through the birth, death, and resurrection of his very own son is truly astounding. Oh, that I would never take that gift for granted.

Let’s live today with hearts full of gratitude for our status as children of God. Let’s embrace our position as sons and daughters of our Father.

Hope your week gets off to an excellent start!
♥Rachel

Leave a Reply

