Christmas Scripture Reading – Day 11

11 Dec

And . . . treatment has been postponed again to next week. This chick is still not well, BUT I am improving (albeit slowly).

Glad you are here! We are reading through the 25-Day Christmas Scripture Reading Plan and today is Day 11. It’s not too late to catch up if you are just joining – many of the daily readings are quite short. Jump right in!

umbrella-kids

The links below will take you to those passages at BibleGateway.com.

I’ll be honest with you. I don’t enjoy reading some of the earliest books in the Bible – Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers . . . It takes a lot of effort and concentration when I start to read from them.

That being said, I love the first chapter of Genesis. I love trying to visualize how the earth was so dark and when God said, “let there be light,” light filled the dark places. I can imagine the waters separating so that dry land appeared and the plants and trees sprouting up all over the place. He hung the sun and moon, put the sky in place and filled it with stars to gave distinction to night and day so that seasons and years could be measured.

He even created snow, that winter season occurrence that so many people wish for at this time of year (although I am not one of them!). Well, I take that back. I like for it to snow once a year, maybe one to two feet, and then be gone by the next day. That’s long enough to see it, enjoy it, but not have it turn all dirty and nasty and slushy. But God didn’t ask my opinion about the weather. :)

Today’s readings talk about asking God to give us pure hearts and how God, through Jesus’ birth, makes our sins white as snow.

Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. – Psalm 51:10

Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow. – Isaiah 1:18

Until this reading, I’d never stopped to consider that watching it snow outside my window could be a reminder of something as wonderful as God’s grace. What a beautiful representation of that gift! If you are one of my friends who live in the frigid northern parts of North America, let the next snow fall you see remind you that you are the recipient of not just that snow, but also of grace, forgiveness, and ultimately the greatest love ever.

Hmmmm . . . since I try to avoid places where it is snowing, I wonder if seeing snowy white sand on a warm beach could serve the same purpose??  I think so! {hehehe!}

Is it snowing where you are today? It’s not here in Tennessee (thank goodness!). It’s actually been unseasonably warm recently. Yay!
Rachel

Leave a Reply

