Christmas Scripture Reading – Day 7

7 Dec

These first seven days of December have been, well, less than stellar. :) However! I think I am turning a corner with this sinus infection. You know what I honestly think? I would be feeling a lot better by now if it weren’t for the antibiotics. Go figure. I start to feel a bit better and then take the medicine which makes me feel horrible. If I didn’t need to have treatment next week, I would stop taking them and just ride it out. But I can’t take my chances right now. Oh, well. It is what it is, right? AND, it could be so much worse – can’t ever forget that.

merry-christmas-birds

We are finishing the first week of our 25-Day Christmas Scripture Reading Plan and I hope you are enjoying it as much as I am! I love getting texts, emails, and notes from all of you as you follow along. :) Today’s passage from Exodus 25 talks about the building of the Tabernacle, a sanctuary where God would dwell, and the specific instructions God gave for its construction. At first pass, I was sort of thinking, “and this has to do with Christmas how??” But after re-reading it and looking at some of the cross-references associated with it, I realized the point of this passage as it relates to Christmas is this:

The Tabernacle contained two rooms: The Holy Place and The Most Holy Place. The Holy Place is where the priest came daily to commune with God. The Most Holy Place is where God himself dwelt. The high priest was the only person who could enter The Most Holy Place (and he could only do that once a year) to make atonement for the sins of the nation. The covering of the Ark of the Covenant was known as the atonement cover. This is where the high priest would make the most perfect act of atonement once a year to make amends (atone) for the sins of the people.

Still with me? Good. :) And let me just say this – I am not a Biblical scholar AT ALL – just a chick learning my way through the Bible with you. So if you ever hear me say something that sounds a little off – call me on it because it might be! You know I can’t trust this brain anymore.  hehe :)

At this time, the people could not communicate directly with God – the high priest had to intercede for them. However – here’s the good part! – Jesus was born to save us from our sins. When he died on the Cross, the curtain surrounding The Most Holy Place was torn in two symbolizing that we now have direct access to God – no one had to go through priests or make sacrifices in order to approach God.

And that’s how Exodus 25 connects to the Christmas story. :) Many of you probably already fully understood this, but I’m a little slow and it takes me longer to connect the dots sometimes. Haha!!

Here’s your link for today, along with the previous 6 days if you are just now joining us. The links will take you to the passages at BibleGateway.com.

See you tomorrow!
Rachel

2 Responses to “Christmas Scripture Reading – Day 7”

  1. Tranquil Moments Photography December 7, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    Glad you pointed out the meaning of the Holy Room and the Most Holy Room and how the fact that the curtain torn down affects us. Good to have “a direct line” with God :) I have even less biblical knowledge than you do! Can’t believe we are a week into reading together. Hope you are feeling better Rachel.

    • rachturner December 7, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

      7 days down; 18 to go! Starting to feel better today – thanks, Daphne!

Leave a Reply

