I Like Yoga Pants

26 Nov

How was your Thanksgiving? Very good, I hope. Did you do anything fun, memorable, a little crazy?? What was the best thing you ate? Normally, I would have said the best thing on the menu would have been the cornbread dressing or sweet potato casserole, but not this year. I woke with a headache Thursday morning and by the time we arrived at Barry’s aunt & uncle’s house, it was a full-blown migraine.

I had hoped to be able to help in the kitchen getting everything ready, but as soon as I walked into the kitchen and smelled the food I realized that would not be happening. I could hardly stand to be near the food most of the day. :( I nibbled on a piece of turkey, some mashed potatoes, and a roll, but not much else. It wasn’t until we were in the car on our way home that my headache started to go away and I my appetite began to return. Fortunately, I had grabbed a sweet potato biscuit before we left so I scarfed it down and it was good!

In another anticipated Thanksgiving twist, Barry’s (almost 94-year old) grandmother fell Wednesday night and broke her arm. She and some of the family were at the Emergency Room until nearly 2:00 am. Not quite what any of them had planned, but they made the best of it. She is seeing an orthopedic doctor today for a consultation about what to do with her arm (possible surgery?). If you wouldn’t mind saying a prayer for her today, we would appreciate it.

What does all of that have to do with yoga pants? Nothing and everything. :)

{I really do like yoga pants. Have you ever worn them?? Oh my stars, they are comfortable!}

We don’t venture too far from home on Thanksgiving. Barry manages eight mall retail cookie stores so getting ready for the Black Friday chaos begins on Thanksgiving Day – especially now that stores are opening earlier and earlier.

We were at our local mall Saturday night getting ready for Black Friday. Customers had been lining up for several hours prior to the mall’s opening hoping to be the first to get to some great deal. When the doors opened at midnight, you could hear the screaming as frenzied customers ran to their store of choice. It was IN-SANITY.

Within a couple of minutes, we noticed everyone running in the direction of Victoria’s Secret, pointing their fingers and screaming. I honestly thought there was a celebrity or something of that nature because they were acting so crazy. When we looked over the railing, we saw the store packed with so many bodies you couldn’t even move inside. Another hundred people (at least) waited impatiently outside trying to get in.

Now. I’m ALL for getting a bargain on something you need or want. And I LOVE saving lots of money on something I’ve been looking for, but people. Really?

Apparently, this scene played out at Victoria’s Secrets across the country. Why? $12.95 yoga pants. I’m not kidding. These women were screaming, pushing, punching (yes, punching), shoving, climbing on the counters, and walking on top of people – to get to yoga pants.

What in the world???

All of this retail/shopping/spending/gotta-have-it-now chaos makes me think about the children we sponsor through Compassion International. The children who are overjoyed to be able to buy a pair of jeans, a shirt, and a toy with the birthday money we send them. What would they think of the people who are willing to beat someone up in order to buy a pair of $12.95 yoga pants. I bet they would think it was silly.

They would be right.

It seems interesting to me that on the fourth Thursday of every November we gather with friends and family to give thanks for all of God’s blessings throughout the year. Then, on the fourth Friday of every November we elbow, push, and shove our fellow customers in order to get our hands on a pair of $12.95 yoga pants from Victoria’s Secret. Call me crazy, but I don’t get it.

What do you think? Do you like the crazy shopping frenzy or do you prefer to avoid it at all costs?

Enjoy this last week of November! Hope it is a blessed one for you!!
Rachel

4 Responses to “I Like Yoga Pants”

  1. Facing Cancer Together November 26, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

    I’m in Canada so haven’t witnessed the black friday madness first hand. But I have to say, it sounds like the frantic energy is contagious – and you’re right, that’s a 180 twist after a weekend of friends, family and thanks. It’s a bizarre contrast. 12.95 yoga pants? No, not worth the stress. ~Catherine

    • rachturner November 27, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

      Definitely not worth the stress at all.

  2. Andrew November 27, 2012 at 2:05 am #

    Great juxtaposition between giving thanks and then forgetting the thankfulness and sharing message. I don’t get it either (I avoid the mall but do some online shopping of things we need).

    • rachturner November 27, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

      I prefer online shopping, too. It’s just too easy – no need to drive all over the place looking for something when I can search for it and buy it in 10 minutes. :)

Leave a Reply

