The Small Things

21 Nov

I find it easy to give thanks for the big things in life – health, relationships, home, job – you know, the ones we are all supposed to appreciate. It is more challenging for me to be grateful for the seemingly little things like a delicious meal, a stranger holding the door for me, or a note from a friend.  Sometimes, I even feel weird expressing appreciation for the smaller things – as if I’m being silly to make note of them.

But then I remember Ephesians 5:20:

And give thanks for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

We are instructed to give thanks for everything. Not just the “big ticket” items or the miraculous moments, but the every day treasures that are so often overlooked in our rush-here, rush-there, always-wanting-more world.

Gratitude for the seemingly insignificant—a seed—this plants the giant miracle. The miracle of eucharisteo, like the Last Supper, is in the eating of crumbs, the swallowing down one mouthful. Do not disdain the small. The whole of the life—even the hard—is made up of the minute parts, and if I miss the infinitesimals, I miss the whole. – Ann Voskamp | 1,000 Gifts

The opposite of thankful is thankless, critical, unappreciative. That’s now how I want to be perceived and that’s not how I want to live my life. But if I’m not consciously appreciating little things, how can I truly be grateful for the big ones?

Maybe the small things aren’t really small. Maybe I just take them for granted and make them seem small. Maybe the small things are really big things that my heart skips right over as it seeks out the larger blessings.

Maybe.

Today. Everyday. Let us be sincerely grateful for the big and little blessings we have been given.

Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world. – John Milton

If you are traveling today, be safe and THANKFUL for the chance to be on the road with all the other crazies. :)
Rachel

6 Responses to “The Small Things”

  1. holly sisson November 21, 2012 at 9:01 am #

    a beautiful reminder, rachel – and one i will share with my family tomorrow. i am thankful for you, friend!

    • rachturner November 21, 2012 at 11:20 am #

      Happy Thanksgiving, Holly! Very grateful for you!!

  2. Julie Kendall November 21, 2012 at 9:37 am #

    I, too, have often felt a little weird enthusiastically thanking someone for a “small” kindness they offered me. Then one day I saw a little kid get so excited and thankful for something really small (cannot remember what it was for the life of me) and realized that being excited and enthusiastic over the “small” things means that I have a childlike heart….the very kind of heart that allows God to work in me and the kind that pleases him. :)

    BTW…thanks again for all your posts. I rarely ever miss a day reading them (even though I’m TERRIBLE at commenting…something I’m working on :) Have a Happy Thanksgiving my sweet friend! :)

    • rachturner November 21, 2012 at 11:21 am #

      What a great story! Thank you so much for reading – it means the world to me. Happy Thanksgiving!! Love you, friend!!

  3. Becky Robinson November 21, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    I am so thankful for you and this site. It always starts my day off right. We wil be on the road today to ensure that all of our family will be together this Thanksgiving. Can’t wait. Sure wish we could see you, also. Have a blessed holiday. Love you!

    • rachturner November 21, 2012 at 11:21 am #

      Have a wonderful Thanksgiving with your family, Becky! Love you!!

Leave a Reply

