17 Days and Counting

15 Nov

It’s been 17 days since I last tasted Diet Dr. Pepper. 17 days since that liquidy goodness made my soul smile. 17 days since those happy little bubbles made my nose tickle. 17 days since its carbonated burn made my eyes water. 17 days since I felt at peace. 17 days since I knew happiness.

Just kidding!

It really has been 17 days, but that stuff about happiness and peace and my soul smiling is just not true. :) I am glad to say that, although I do still occasionally long for the taste (and miss the burn!), I don’t think about it all that often. And I’ve gone too far now to turn back!

The most helpful part of this journey is that Barry is doing this, too. It makes it so much easier to drink water in a restaurant when he’s also drinking water. And at home I never have to hear the soda can open. There is something to be said for moral support and accountability.

I think I’ll get to a point where I can have one and won’t be sucked back in to the daily cycle of drinking a cool, refreshing, bubbly . . . oh, my mind is wandering, sorry. As I was saying, I do think – at some point way down the road :) – I’ll be able to have an occasional one and enjoy it without needing one every day.

I’ve had a couple of weak moments where I thought I might cave and have one. Standing in line to check out at Walmart one day, there were bottles of Diet Dr. Pepper in the cooler by the register. I’m fairly certain the bottles were actually talking to me – begging me to buy them. (I think they knew my name.) But I didn’t. :)

And then tonight when I arrived home from work, there were 24 20-oz bottles of Diet Dr. Pepper sitting beside my front door. You see, just days before I jumped on the wagon, we purchased 2 dozen drinks from a little girl selling them for a school fundraiser. Then God, with his wicked sense of humor, decided to compel me to give them up knowing I would be seriously tested just three weeks down the road. The bottles are in the garage and I’m proud to say I don’t feel tempted by them. Yet. {grin}

Have you given up or cut back on sodas (or anything else)? How are you doing? It’s ok if you’ve slipped – the important thing is to continue to make positive progress.

Have a great, diet soda free day!
Rachel

4 Responses to “17 Days and Counting”

  1. The Savvy Sister November 15, 2012 at 7:15 am #

    So proud of you! Change is never easy, but your body is saying “Why didn’t you do this sooner?!”
    If you like bubbles, try San Pellegrino mineral water with a squeeze of fresh lemon and lime or a splash of 100% pure cherry juice. Not only is it refreshing, but it has 180 mg calcium per 8 ounce serving! That’s 15% of your daily RDA!
    Now that you’ve conquered Dr Pepper, you can move onto other stuff……

  2. Chargaile Askew November 15, 2012 at 10:12 am #

    I am so very proud of you Rachel, especially the fact that you didn’t slip after your “deer” diaster.
    I am still hanging in there and rarely have the diet soda anymore. I have slipped up a few times but I am still making the effort.
    You are right about the support of others. My husband still drinks the diet soda and sometimes that makes it easier for me to slip and slide.
    Have a great week Rachel.

  3. Facing Cancer Together November 15, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    Wow, temptation is everywhere. I feel the same way about cookies and potato chips . . . the best answer is to abstain, but that doesn’t mean it’s easy. Good luck and keep it up! I’m sure your body is thanking you (between the cravings). ~Catherine

  4. Andrew November 16, 2012 at 2:50 am #

    Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

