An Anniversary, a Thank You, and a Smile {Video}

9 Nov

Today’s post is a hodge-podge of items. :)

First, today is my 10th wedding anniversary!! I can hardly believe it’s been ten years since we said our vows and jumped into this crazy life together. Ten years since my very dear friend, Craig Kendall, joined us in holy matrimony in a small country inn outside of Nashville, Tennessee. Ten years since my dad prayed over us with a choked up voice full of emotion as he gave me to my husband-to-be. Ten years since we stood in between two precious little girls (now my beautiful stepdaughters) and pledged to love, honor, and cherish each other for better or worse, in sickness and health, til death do us part. We had no idea how soon or in what way the sickness and health part would be tested, but the man I married has lived that pledge to me for ten years, and most especially during these days with cancer.

I love you, Barry. I am grateful for you and blessed to be your wife and I can’t wait to see what the next ten years have in store for us!

Second, thank you for your comments here and on Facebook & Twitter about yesterday’s post. I didn’t anticipate it would strike such a chord, but I’m glad you found my words to be encouraging. Uncertainty will always be our companion. We can be crippled by it or we can carry on. Whatever we do, I hope we can do it with love in our hearts and kindness toward everyone. The Presidential campaign had more than enough mud-slinging – no need for us to continue it with those around us. A friend posted this on Facebook last night and I loved it:

source: calej d’art

I thought it was a good reminder that it’s ok to be different and disagree with each other, but still do it in a kind, respectful way. If we can only be friends with people who agree with us, our list of friends is going to get smaller and smaller and smaller . . . :)

And lastly, to put a smile on your face and maybe even a little tear in your eye, here is a great video of a military family being reunited with their husband and dad at the South Carolina-Georgia football game several weeks ago. The tears, the love, the JOY – gets me every single time! As a military kiddo who remembers what it was like when dad came home, I looooovvvvvveeeeee these welcome home videos.

{If you are reading this in email,
you may need to click over to the blog to watch the video.}


Have a beautiful weekend! I appreciate you all so much and am grateful that you allow me to have a few minutes of your day. Thank you!
Rachel

12 Responses to “An Anniversary, a Thank You, and a Smile {Video}”

  1. Tranquil Moments Photography November 9, 2012 at 6:26 am #

    Yup, teared up here now. Happy Anniversary to you and Barry. Wishing you many many more healthy and happy years together :) BTW, you look marvellous. I missed your post yesterday, will go and read that next :) Happy weekend as well.

  2. The Savvy Sister November 9, 2012 at 7:53 am #

    Congrats to you on your anniversary! Wishing you many more!
    When an I ever going to learn NOT to watch your teary eyed videos AFTER I put my make up on??!!

    • rachturner November 9, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

      Haha! Sorry about your makeup. :)

  3. Nancy Arrighi November 9, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    Wow, that one got me….Happy Anniversary to you and Barry! May the Lord shine upon you and be gracious to you today and everyday! I pray that your day will be blessed!

  4. mainelyhopeful November 9, 2012 at 9:04 am #

    sniff Happy Anniversary! 10 years is a milestone :)

  5. Facing Cancer Together November 9, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    Happy anniversary to you both! (And yes, that video IS a tear jerker!) ~Catherine

  6. Andrew November 10, 2012 at 3:23 am #

    Congrats! Another moment in life to celebrate.

Leave a Reply

