Apple Cake {A Baking Monday Recipe}

5 Nov

First, today, I want to wish my beautiful stepdaughter, Fawn, a very happy 26th birthday!! I am blessed to be your stepmom. Love you, girl!!

Today makes SEVEN days since Diet Dr. Pepper has crossed my lips. I haven’t smelled it, tasted it, or felt its burn in one whole week. And you know what? I think I’m getting used to it. I don’t crave it like I did, although I have had moments where I could have used the caffeine jolt. There’s really two bonuses here: 1) giving up diet soda and all its negatives + 2) drinking more water (plain and flavored). How are you guys doing? I know several of you indicated you were going to give it up or cut back – at least for a week or so. Check in and let me know how your week went!

Apple Cake

I made an apple cake yesterday that I really liked. The recipe is from Myra at My Blessed Life and as soon as I saw her post the recipe last week, I knew I would be making it. It uses four cups of fresh apples, so you know it’s going to be good. I did not make the caramel glaze for the cake, and I think I should have. The cake, alone, was good, but I think the glaze would have been the perfect touch it needed. I will also say that the batter with the apples in it was delicious! I know, I know – I’m not supposed to eat raw cake batter, but I do. And I love it. And I have no plans to stop any time soon. I can only give up one thing at a time, people! :)

Here’s Myra’s recipe. You can also find her original post about the cake here.

Apple Cake

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup coconut oil {or 1/2 cup oil or butter and 1/2 cup applesauce}
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon real salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 4 cups diced Granny Smith apples

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9×13 inch cake pan.

Beat oil and eggs until creamy. Add sugar and vanilla and beat well.

Combine flour, cinnamon, salt and baking soda together in a bowl. Slowly add flour mixture to the egg mixture and mix until thoroughly combined. The batter will be very thick. Fold in the apples. Spread batter into the prepared pan.

Bake for 45 minutes or until cake is done in the center. Cool. (Note from Rachel – After 35 minutes, mine was more than done. It probably could have cooked just 30 minutes, so be sure to check yours before the 45 minute mark.)

Click here for the optional Caramel Glaze Recipe.

*adapted from All Recipes

If you give it a try, be sure to stop by Myra’s beautiful blog and let her know what you think.

Hope your week gets off to a great start! (And don’t forget to go vote tomorrow if you haven’t already.)
 Rachel

3 Responses to “Apple Cake {A Baking Monday Recipe}”

  1. Chargaile Askew November 5, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    Rach, I hope you had a great weekend. I hit a boulder in the road on Friday and I failed to stay on the wagon away from diet soda consumption. Matter of fact, I failed to leave the sweets (actually I was gluttonous about eating them) alone this weekend as well. My husband was diagnosed with macular degeneration and it is the wet type and his vision in his right eye is going fast. I let “life” rule these 3 days instead of the Lord. Pray that I am strong enough once again too stay on track.

    I usually don’t let life”s boulders knock me around so bad, but, this time I did. For 15 months life has been a mountain slide of boulders. But my hurdle shoes are back on this morning. Bring it on life!

    Have a wonderful week sweet lady.

    • rachturner November 5, 2012 at 10:35 am #

      That’s entirely, ok, Charlotte because at any moment you can decide to start again. Progress is still progress and when you are faced with some serious obstacles, sometimes your progress slows down a bit. I’m sorry to hear about your husband and how fast his vision is failing. You ARE strong and you will get through this and be a great support for him. Praying for both of you, and for your desire to kick the soda habit. Have a blessed day. :)

  2. Facing Cancer Together November 5, 2012 at 11:05 am #

    I appreciate that this recipe has coconut oil. That’s one healthy & luxurious oil! And keep going with the Dr Pepper cut – that’s fantastic progress. ~Catherine

Leave a Reply

