Leftover Halloween Candy {A Ridiculous Recipe Roundup}

2 Nov

It’s Day 4 of the No Diet Dr. Pepper journey and it seems to be getting easier. Yesterday was a little rough, though, because the ice maker at work was broken. Not having Diet DP or ice water was almost more than I could handle. Haha!

We had fewer than 15 trick-or-treaters at our house on Halloween night, so we definitely have some extra candy. I think the kiddos were all at the mall because it was a zoo when I stopped by there on my way home. I call this a “Ridiculous” Recipe Roundup because some of these recipes are so over-the-top that it’s hard to even look at them without sending my blood sugar into orbit. You’ll see, just keep reading.

Let’s start with this Chocolate Halloween Bark from The Curvy Carrot. See what I mean by over-the-top?? I feel like I gain two pounds each time I look at the picture.

These Reeses Peanut Butter Cupcakes from Hoosier Homemade look divine with that fluffy icing piled on top. Oh my. Yum!

I’m not a big candy corn eater, but I like the combination of sweet and salty in this Candy Corn and Pretzel Bark from Inspired Nesting.

For the healthiest option in this list, which really isn’t healthy at all, you could try the Candy Bar Apple Salad from Taste of Home. You could at least make this one slightly lower in calories and fat by using low-fat milk, sugar-free pudding, and fat-free whipped topping.

The longest recipe name award goes to the Picky Palate’s Peanut Butter Cookie and Cream Cheese “Candy” Bars. Anything that combines peanut butter and cream cheese has to be good, right?

And because my favorite desserts are cakes, here’s a Leftover Halloween Candy Vanilla Bundt Cake from Noble Pig. Like many of the recipes, above, you can use virtually any variety of candy you have laying around.

And that’s it for our sugar overload. :) Have a fun weekend and don’t forget to set your clocks back tomorrow night!

 Rachel

8 Responses to “Leftover Halloween Candy {A Ridiculous Recipe Roundup}”

  1. The Savvy Sister November 2, 2012 at 6:29 am #

    Wow! I always feel sorry for school teachers around Halloween. All those kids on that sugar high!

    • rachturner November 5, 2012 at 10:27 am #

      The sugar high and then the crash . . .

  2. Tranquil Moments Photography November 2, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    Yeah it all looks good but imagine the damage to the old arteries eh? We have tons left over as well, Halloween chips and mars bars overload. Thank God Zumba exercise classes resume next week. You have a wonderful weekend too Rachel. :)

    • rachturner November 5, 2012 at 10:28 am #

      Serious damage to the arteries.

  3. Chargaile Askew November 2, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    6 pictures and I put on 5# for sure ;)
    They do look delicious except for the pretzel and candy corn one, of course I don’t think I would like it, after all it is probably the healthiest one shown.
    Have a very happy and blessed weekend sweet child.

  4. Cara Olsen November 4, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    Rachel! What are you trying to do to us?! I am using one hand to type this to you, because the other is the only thing keeping down tied down to this chair and away from the kitchen. Oh, my, my, my! That bark is calling my name . . . but it will just have to keep calling, I’m afraid. I have eaten my weight in candy this month, no lie, and this next month doesn’t promise to be any less tempting with Thanksgiving feasts happening on both ends of the family spectrum.

    I feign shame on you, but secretly I really enjoyed this post, as I do all your posts, Rachel. Visiting you is like visiting a handful of sunshine.

    Xoxo

    ~ Cara

    • rachturner November 5, 2012 at 10:29 am #

      It’s as if Halloween kicks off two months of stuffing our faces. I’m not big on candy, but I do love the “homemade” treats. Have a beautiful week, Cara!

Leave a Reply

