November is for Giving Thanks

1 Nov

This has nothing to do with anything other than last night being Halloween, but I just have to say – It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown is such a great classic! It really makes me smile. And it makes me feel old. :)

Day 2 of no Diet DP was a success. As I sit here typing this, I have not had any Diet DP since Monday morning. I was definitely dragging this morning, but I think my body is starting to adjust. The up+up side is that I’m downing a lot more water than I even drank before. I guess that’s what you would call a win+win situation. My wonderful husband has been drinking only water, too. And even more friends and family have joined this little adventure, committing to try it for at least a week. Yay!!

source: pinterest

Well, welcome to November, friends! Can you seriously believe it is already November? I would like to make a formal request to whomever manages the time clock that we sloooooow – it – down a bit. :)

November automatically puts me in the Thanksgiving and gratitude frame of mind, and it always makes me pay extra attention to all of the things for which I have to be grateful. For starters, I’m super, crazy, over-the-moon thankful for Daylight Savings Time, falling back an hour, and gaining an hour of sleep on Saturday night! Who’s with me on this one?? :)

But on a more serious note, witnessing the suffering of so many in the Northeast makes me sad and heavy-hearted. At the same time, I am also overwhelmed with gratitude that my sister in New Jersey and her family were spared the worst. She’s faced a lot of frustrations and inconveniences over the last few days, but I am so thankful her home is still standing and they are all safe. In addition, friends that were visiting up that way and those who live there are also safe and well. All of this makes me very happy . . . and grateful. I’m pretty sure I’ve said thank you to Jesus no less than 40 times in the past three days.

But my heart is heavy. As I look at the homes that are leaning sideways onto the sand, the charred remains of homes in Breezy Point, NY, and the entire towns that are still under water, I am reminded to be thankful each day for not just the comforts I have, but also the people in my life because there is no guarantee they will be there tomorrow.

What are you grateful for today? I would love to hear about the blessings you are experiencing today.

Here’s to a grateful Thursday. Hope yours is blessed in countless ways!
 Rachel

4 Responses to “November is for Giving Thanks”

  1. Jennifer November 1, 2012 at 5:00 am #

    I am grateful to still have my home at the Jersey Shore! I am truly very lucky and blessed to still have a home when ou see all the devastation only 30 miles away.
    Love, Jennifer

  2. chargaile (Charlotte Askew) November 1, 2012 at 7:50 am #

    I am grateful for my salvation, family, friends, good health, being blessed. The list is actually endless.

    How you ever just sat quietly and looked around you and started naming the things to be grateful for within your vision? Try it sometime. Peace floods over you, the tension in your face turns into a smile. Total contentment is yours, if only for a short time, it is yours as long as you sit and bask in gratefullness.

    On a different note…..I have made it 2 days without adding the diet soda pop to my wine. Amazingly my weight is down a pound. I intend to keep going and I will let you know the results I see in my trouble areas, waist and belly.

    Have a beautiful Thursday, November 1st.

    • rachturner November 1, 2012 at 10:02 am #

      Beautiful, Charlotte! And YAY for no diet soda! Way to go!!!

Leave a Reply

