Chocolate Cinnamon Bread Pudding {A Recipe}

29 Oct

I made a bread pudding recipe this weekend using Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon Swirl bread and it was pretty good. I won’t say great or fabulous, because it wasn’t over-the-top wonderful, but it was good. This recipe uses semi-sweet chocolate chips {which I like, but am not a huge fan} and it seemed to have too many for my taste.

This is the recipe before it went in the oven, as it sat their soaking up all the milky deliciousness before being baked. If you don’t like bread pudding, this photo might not look all that appetizing to you. I LOVE bread pudding – pretty much any variation of it.

CHOCOLATE-CINNAMON BREAD PUDDING

Prep: 15 minutes
Bake: 40 minutes

Serves: 6

ingredients

12 slices Pepperidge Farm® Cinnamon Swirl Bread, any variety, cut into cubes (about 6 cups)
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate pieces
2 1/2 cups milk
4 eggs
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 tsp. vanilla extract
Sweetened whipped cream (optional)

directions

Heat the oven to 350°F.

Place the bread cubes into a lightly greased 2-quart shallow baking dish. Sprinkle the chocolate pieces over the bread cubes. Beat the milk, eggs, brown sugar and vanilla extract in a small bowl with a fork or whisk. Pour the milk mixture over the bread cubes.  Stir and press the bread cubes into the milk mixture to coat.

Bake for 40 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. Serve with the whipped cream, if desired.

Tip:  This bread pudding can be served with the whipped cream as a dessert, or with a sprinkle of confectioners’ sugar as a decadent brunch dish.

***************

Super easy to throw together and this is the finished product, all warm and gooey from the oven!

Pepperidge Farm makes several varieties of Cinnamon Swirl bread which could also be used in this recipe:

  • Raisin Cinnamon Swirl
  • Brown Sugar Cinnamon Swirl
  • 100% Whole Wheat Cinnamon Swirl with Raisins
  • Strawberry Banana

I’m thinking maybe the Raisin Cinnamon Swirl with white chocolate chips for the next one. Sounds yum, huh?

If you love bread pudding, do you have a great recipe I could try? Please share!

Happy Monday, Friends! Let’s make it a great week!! And to my sister and everyone else on the East Coast, please be safe.
 Rachel

4 Responses to “Chocolate Cinnamon Bread Pudding {A Recipe}”

  1. Tranquil Moments Photography October 29, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    Look delish Rachel. I have an old fashioned bread pudding recipie I make with bread crusts and raisins…so good.

    • rachturner October 30, 2012 at 9:00 am #

      I don’t know why I love bread pudding, but I do. I think it’s because it’s usually not an overly sweet dessert (although I certainly don’t mind overly sweet desserts!).

  2. Facing Cancer Together October 31, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    Well the final product looks lovely. I wonder if this can be done with gluten-free cinnamon bread? ~Catherine

    • rachturner October 31, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

      I don’t see why not – I think it would work just as well. If you try it, let me know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

