You Are Not Alone

23 Oct

Do you ever listen to a band or a singer and have this image in your mind of what they look like, but when you actually see them they look nothing like what you had imagined? That was me with Building 429. I’ve listened to, and loved, countless songs of theirs, but was really surprised when I saw them in a recent video – they just didn’t look like what I had pictured. Not bad, just different. And this really has no connection to what I’m about to say other than I thought it was interesting and sometimes I ramble. {grin}

Building 429 recently released the video to go with one of their latest songs – Right Beside You, featuring Dawn Michelle of Fireflight. I loved the song when I heard it on the radio. I love it even more after watching the video all the way through.

{If you are reading this in email,
you may need to click over to the blog to watch the video.}


You are not alone.

Sometimes we feel so alone the pain is unbearable. Even when we are surrounded by people, family, friends, bodies – we can still feel completely alone.

I’ve seen it and felt it
Hopelessness with no lifeline
The wicked are feeding on
Innocence and our decline

Go through a cancer diagnosis and you will realize that there are things no one can do for you. You are the one who has to take the treatments. You are the one who has to lose your hair. You are the one who has to sacrifice parts of your body to surgery. You are the one who has to endure radiation. You are the one who will get sick and tired and weak. Others can be there to hold your hand and support you, but you, alone, have to do it. And when you are in the thick of it, feeling as bad as you think you could possibly feel, you feel alone.

But you’re not.

You and I we are the same
Torn apart by different things
All our faith is barely alive
But we’re going to make it through the night
I want you to know

When your husband or wife has decided they no longer want to be married to you, you may feel incredibly alone.

When your children grow up and go off to college, you may feel alone in the silence of your home.

When you lose your job and it’s been months since you’ve had a decent interview, you will feel alone under the pressure to find work and support your family.

When the world is on your back
And you think that you will never last
When you’re lonely and you are confused
I’ll be right beside you
When the walls are closing in
And you think you’d rather sink than swim
When you think there’s nothing left for you to lose
I’ll be right beside you
I’ll be with you

When a relationship you placed a lot of value in falls apart, when what you’ve known to be true doesn’t seem to be, when your world shifts in a way that makes you feel out of control, you can feel deeply alone.

When your head tells you that you are no good, not qualified, incapable of doing the job, ugly, fat, a horrible mother, lousy wife, lazy husband, or just plain worthless, you may feel so very alone.

This is when you need to know the truth. You are NOT alone. Ever. God is with you, He is with us. Always. When we don’t ask Him to be, when we are not calling on Him for help, when we are running from Him – He is still with us. Always.

And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age. – Matthew 28:20

So do not fear, for I am with you;
do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you;
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. – Isaiah 41:10

God is our refuge and strength,
an ever-present help in trouble. – Psalm 46:1

Be encouraged. You are not alone.
With much love to you all.
 Rachel

4 Responses to “You Are Not Alone”

  1. lmw October 23, 2012 at 5:40 am #

    Wow…holy cow I needed this right now. Thank you for being such an encouragement. xx L

    • rachturner October 23, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

      I’m so glad this is what you needed. Keeping you in my prayers. :)

  2. Nancy Arrighi October 23, 2012 at 8:19 am #

    Isaiah 41:10 was the verse I leaned on when going through my diagnosis and my treatments. Satan would come to me in the night and tell me I should be afraid and try to fill me with his lies. I would lie in bed and repeat Isaiah 41:10 over and over out loud until he left me alone and I could go back to sleep. Praise God that His word is true and never fails!

    • rachturner October 23, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

      That’s such a great verse – so much comfort and power found in those words. His word never fails!!

Leave a Reply

