Sometimes Being Kind Means Saying Nothing

22 Oct

Barry and I got to do something fun this weekend. {Well, it was fun up until Auburn decided they didn’t really want to play football anymore which came pretty early in the first quarter, but . . . whatcha gonna do?}

I’ve loved Auburn since before my sister went to school there, since before I went to school there, since before meeting Barry and learning something like half of his family went to school there. We were blessed to receive tickets to the Auburn – Vandy game on Saturday so we headed off to Nashville.

This was a big game for Auburn whose record was 1-5 heading into the game with no SEC wins. Usually, every SEC team can count on beating Vanderbilt, so hopes were a little high that we could pull out a win. We didn’t. And we left the game with a record of 1-6. The only other team with a worse record than Auburn right now is Kentucky. Kentucky, Mom! {My mom is a life-long Kentucky fan, bless her heart!} And the only reason Kentucky’s record is worse than ours is because they’ve played one more game than we have.

As it sits right now, Auburn officially is having their worst season in 60 years. That’s a really long time. But it has nothing to do with the point I’m trying to make. I a little tired tonight and rambling a bit – obviously, huh?

There was an interesting woman sitting just in front of me to my right. She was a broad woman, pretty tall, wearing camoflauge sweat pants, a chamo fleece jacket, and a pinkish-purple toboggan. Somewhere around the third quarter she decided to stand frequently, so if I wanted to see what was going on on the field, I had to stand up, too, or lean around her. She frequently got a little excited with her blue and orange pom pom coming uncomfortably close to hitting my face and head numerous times.

I wanted to say something to her, to ask her to sit down or at least to try to control the pom pom and keep it a safe distance from my head. A few times, I really wanted to say something to her. But I didn’t. {Besides – we were losing – what was to see??  haha!}

After watching her, and the woman she was with, for most of the game, I sensed that there was something different about them. I couldn’t quite put my finger on what it was, but I felt like she might be a little insecure and she probably didn’t even realize that she was blocking my view or smacking me in the head with her pom pom.

I just didn’t think that saying something to her would have made her feel any better. It either would have made her mad {and she was bigger than me!} or it might have really hurt her feelings. So I said nothing, choosing the kinder reaction in this instance of being silent and just stood when I wanted to see a play.

I don’t mention this to pat myself on the back for “taking the high road,” because it is certainly nothing worthy of that. I mention it because this is part of a work that God is doing in me. It’s just one area where I am trying to improve myself, my reactions, and my responses to people who annoy me. {And for those of you who know me, you also know there is no shortage of people who annoy me. Haha!! But I’m working on that, too!}

It’s a shift where I’m learning – truly learning – that it’s not always about me and that I will be my best self when I can put the interest of others ahead of my own.

I’m not saying you should never speak up for yourself, but I would like to encourage you today to think before you speak. Is it more important that you get your point across, make someone move out of your way, or let someone know how upset you are? Or is more important to consider the circumstances and let some things go? I’m trying to let go of more.

Maybe today, when you encounter a situation where you could easily {and possibly even justifiably} give someone a piece of your mind you might think twice before doing so. Maybe say a short prayer and ask God to give you wisdom for the situation. Maybe just walk away or choose to say nothing. Being kind means saying kind things, but kindness can also be silence – doing nothing.

Hope your week is off to a wonderful start!
Rachel

3 Responses to “Sometimes Being Kind Means Saying Nothing”

  1. Nancy Arrighi October 22, 2012 at 8:32 am #

    And with that said, I choose to say nothing about my Auburn Tigers. I just wish others would choose the kinder, silent route. :) Thanks for sharing.

    • rachturner October 22, 2012 at 8:41 am #

      Agreed! Some of those fans sure do get hateful. I think they forget there are actually people wearing the helmets. I was really glad to not hear the fans booing the team – I really don’t like it when people do that to their team. It’s so demoralizing. Have a great week, Nancy!

  2. Andrew October 23, 2012 at 2:54 am #

    Always good to think twice …

Leave a Reply

