Joy Amid Difficulties

12 Oct

I usually get my treatments on Fridays and have Saturday to take it easy. Having treatment on Wednesday and going to work yesterday wore this chick out. Normally I sleep really well the night of treatment, but I didn’t sleep so great Wednesday night. I think it’s because I took such a hard nap when I got home from treatment in the afternoon that I couldn’t get back into a deep sleep. Whatever the cause, my energy tank is on empty, so . . . I’m going to let Sarah Young share a little encouragement with you today. This is from her October 5 devotion in Jesus Calling.

“Remember that Joy is not dependent on your circumstances. Some of the world’s most miserable people are those whose circumstances seem the most enviable. People who reach the top of the ladder career-wise are often surprised to find emptiness awaiting them. True Joy is a by-product of living in My Presence. Therefore you can experience it in palaces, in prisons . . . anywhere.

Do not judge a day as devoid of Joy just because it contains difficulties. Instead, concentrate on staying in communication with Me. Many of the problems that clamor for your attention will resolve themselves. Other matters you must deal with, but I will help you through them. If you make problem-solving secondary to the goal of living close to Me, you can find Joy even in your most difficult days.”

Though the fig tree does not bud
and there are no grapes on the vines,
though the olive crop fails
and the fields produce no food,
though there are no sheep in the pen
and no cattle in the stalls,
yet I will rejoice in the Lord,
I will be joyful in God my Savior.

The Sovereign Lord is my strength;
he makes my feet like the feet of a deer,
he enables me to tread on the heights.

Habakkuk 3:17-19

Thanks for all your words of encouragement this week. You guys truly bless my heart in such a special way. Have a lovely weekend, friends!
 Rachel

5 Responses to “Joy Amid Difficulties”

  1. lmw October 12, 2012 at 5:29 am #

    I just read through Philippians in the Message…and Paul can’t contain how joyful he is…despite being in prison. It was very convicting. :-) xx L

  2. angela nabors October 12, 2012 at 7:31 am #

    Rachel- I started subscribing to your blog a few months ago. I don’t remember how I found you, but think it may have been from twitter somehow. I just want to thank you for sharing your heart. I do not have cancer, but I have a 27 year old son with a 7 year long drug problem which feels like cancer n my life at times. There are so many days that your blog encourages, inspires and comforts me. The day you sent the hope blog came on the day after he left rehab after finding out his liver is enlarged. It gave me hope when to be honest I was almost surrendering to hopelessness. Thank you so much for following Christ’s lead. I am praying for you.

    Blessings,

    Angela Nabors 865.318.1530 http://www.gettoitknoxville.com

    • rachturner October 15, 2012 at 10:45 am #

      Hi Angela – Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting! I am thrilled that you read and find encouragement here. No, you don’t have cancer, but your son’s drug experience is as destructive as cancer – if not moreso. You are walking a very hard road with little control over the outcome. That’s where we have no choice (which is truly the best choice) but to go to our knees and pray for God to intervene. I am praying for you, girl! Stay strong, keep praying, keep believing! God has not left you or your son – He’s right there with you.

  3. tersiaburger October 13, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    Thank you. Hope you feel better by now.

    • rachturner October 15, 2012 at 10:40 am #

      Thanks, Tersia! Feeling much better now. Hope you are doing well and your daughter is remaining strong.

Leave a Reply

