Survivorship is a State of Mind

10 Oct

We are headed to see Dr. Daniel this morning followed by my maintenance treatment. Seriously . . . time really does fly. Has it really been 8 weeks? Is this what happens with age??

The mind is an amazing machine. When I was first diagnosed, I assumed my first thought every day would be of cancer. The farther I move away from that day, the easier it is to forget and I really love that.

Yet, every eight weeks – no matter what – I am reminded I am a cancer patient. I go to the cancer clinic to see the oncologist and then sit down for several hours of chemotherapy. Hard to ignore that reality, right?

In the days leading up to treatment, I find myself gravitating toward articles, quotes, and inspiration related to cancer. I came across the following earlier this week {yes, on Pinterest} and it just grabbed me. I sat there reading and re-reading as it sunk in.

Survivorship is a state of mind and healing can come without curing.

Talk about some truth! Being a cancer survivor is as much a state of mind as it is a condition of the body – if not more so. You might be cured, but if your mind is stuck in “I have cancer” mode, you are not surviving – you’re existing. In my situation, my body is not yet cured, but as time passes and I learn to rely on God for all of my strength – my soul has begun to heal from the shock of having cancer.

And that makes me happy.

Have a wonderful day!
 Rachel

2 Responses to “Survivorship is a State of Mind”

  1. lmw October 10, 2012 at 4:57 am #

    I’m still not completely sure if I will ever claim “cancer survivor”…but “life survivor”. Because I feel like it is more my attitude about facing everything rather than my specific pathology that I am surviving. Plus, what does it say to all the people that lose their battle with cancer. Were they not survivors because the medicine wasn’t there? I have my own blog post rattling around in my head for this one…it will come out soon. :-) xx L

  2. Charlotte Askew October 10, 2012 at 8:39 am #

    Rachel, I pray that you will soon claim the title of “Survivor”. I have not had cancer, however, my husband had stage 3 of colon cancer, so, I lived cancer. I became my husband’s strength, I was his encourager, his cheerleader, his comforter, his listener, his everything. When the day comes that they tell you, “you are cancer free” believe me, it does change your state of mind. A blessed change of mind too. The words, cancer survivor is spoken with lips that have a smile. When you speak the words, I have cancer, there is never a smile on the lips.
    So, I look forward to the day I read your post that says, I am a cancer suvivor and proud of that new claimed status.

Leave a Reply

