Thursday Joy Challenge

4 Oct

Thursdays can be a little weird. It’s not yet Friday, yet you may be starting to run out of steam from what’s been an already busy week. It’s even slightly possible that your mood may be a little sour this morning. I’m not accusing you of anything, I’m just saying it’s possible. {grin}

source: thinkstockphotos.com

So, I have a challenge for you today:

List 10 things that bring you joy.

Seriously. Find a piece of paper, grab a pen, and start writing.

It doesn’t have to be a profound, deeply thoughtful list. It doesn’t need to impress anyone. This list is just for you. Just jot down 10 things that come to mind when you think of things that make you smile. If you have more than 10 things that come to mind, keep writing!

I promise you will feel better, maybe even a bit energized, and your mood will improve significantly. Yes, I said significantly. Just trust me on this, ok? I know you’re busy, but you have time to do this.

If it helps you get started, here’s my list of 10 things that bring me joy.

  1. My husband’s laughter and smile. (Love, love, LOVE this.)
  2. Hugs. (I mean, really, who doesn’t love a good hug?)
  3. 80 degree days with no humidity. (This is heavenly!)
  4. Playing a song that I love really loud. (Right now it’s Keith Urban’s For You.)
  5. The sound of my parent’s voices (There’s something about the familiarity of them that makes me happy.)
  6. People who make me laugh. (Laughter is such good medicine.)
  7. The very first fizzy sip of a fresh Diet Dr. Pepper. (No, I have not kicked the habit.)
  8. Reading something in my Bible and finally “getting it.” (I feel like I’ve uncovered a treasure when I read something for the 50th time and it finally “clicks.”)
  9. Pumpkin purring in my lap. (The older he gets, the more of a lap kitty he becomes.)
  10. Football Saturdays. (Of course, they were much more joyful when Auburn was actually winning more games than they lost.)

and a special extra item on my list of joy:

  • You! (If you are reading this, the fact that you have taken the time to do so brings me SO much joy.)

As I wrote my list, I began to think of more and more things to add to it and I just kept going. This may happen with you, too. Once you recognize joy and pursue it, you will notice that it comes to mind more easily.

Joy-filled living is not a lofty ideal to aspire to – it is something to chase after, to consciously seek out and acknowledge in the every day. Our lives will be infinitely better and our hearts more content when we pay attention to the countless things surrounding us that bring us joy.

Here’s to a joy-filled Thursday!
♥ Rachel

4 Responses to “Thursday Joy Challenge”

  1. Becky October 4, 2012 at 6:42 am #

    You did it again!! Brought joy to my life!! I was dreading a stressful day and your post came along. Sure wish I could see you and give you a hug. You always brighten my day. Love you bunches!

    • rachturner October 4, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

      I’m so glad! Sorry today is going to be stressful. I hope it turns out much better than you are anticipating. Love you, Becky!

  2. Pattie October 4, 2012 at 8:07 am #

    Happy Joyful Thursday Rachel! Something else to make us think about….

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

