An Obscured View

3 Oct

The company where I work is located at the base of a mountain in our beautiful city. My 25-mile commute to work each morning draws me closer and closer to the mountain until it looms tall and magnificent in front of me. It’s a lovely view and a great way to start the day.

source: thinkstockphotos.com

It was raining when I drove to work the other day. The sky was dark and heavy making it difficult to see the mountain. As I walked to another building mid-afternoon, I noticed the top of the mountain was completely obscured by a foggy cloud-like haze. I could only see about half way up and could not see any of the homes that sit at the top.

The obscured mountain made me think about the legendary Battle Above the Clouds, a Civil War battle that took place on this very mountain in 1863. 10,000 Union soldiers were advancing up the mountain prepared to fight approximately 1,000 Confederate soldiers. The Confederate troops had a great vantage point from atop the mountain, but that quickly changed.

A fog began to cover much of the top half of the mountain at 10:00am that morning, obscuring the view of the participants of the battle and the men in the Chattanooga Valley. It was this meteorological phenomena that gave the fighting on Lookout Mountain its nickname, “The Battle Above the Clouds.” Through the fog, Confederate artillery shells and canisters would pass over the heads of the advancing soldiers. Occasionally the fog would lift briefly so that the Union Army in the Chattanooga Valley could see the action.*

The fog lifted abruptly and the Confederate soldiers were surprised to find some of the Union troops directly upon them. Because the Union troops in the valley could now see the mountain top, they quickly advanced and captured the plateau.

I can think of times in my life {cancer, anyone??} when the goodness of the mountain top has been obscured from my view. I can’t see the prize, the goal, God’s goodness because I am allowing the fog of disaster, discouragement, and disappointment to cloud my view. It is so easy to forget all the wonderful things in our life when life takes a turn toward the negative. That negative swells up in front of us and we can only see it – not the victory that is waiting for us if we will just keep climbing through the fog.

What’s obscuring your view today? Are you facing financial difficulties? Maybe you’re struggling with a fitness program that is showing little result? Is there a health issue scaring you to pieces? What about a relationship that seems destined for failure? The list of things that can blur our vision is endless.

Don’t give up. Keep climbing, even when you can’t see the end in sight. Keep praying, keep trying, keep trusting. You’ll get there.

I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us. – Philippians 3:14

♥ Rachel

*Source: Battle of Lookout Mountain by Col. Samuel Taylor

4 Responses to “An Obscured View”

  1. Betsy October 3, 2012 at 8:18 am #

    Thanks for writing this for me!! :). It is so easy for the negative to drown out the positive. This is an everyday battle for me. I know God’s blessing and goodness is with me and I try to focus on that but at times I feel in a negative funk. My husband at the age if 45 may be facing open heart surgery. We have already battled 2 heart attacks and numerous stents. We are tired but we know that God is for us and not against us. Thanks for taking time to encourage me everyday. I appreciate it. You have a great ministry to all of us who read. Thanks!!

    • rachturner October 4, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

      2 heart attacks by the age of 45? That’s so young, Betsy! Bless your heart. You guys are walking a tough road. Will be keeping you all in my prayers.

  2. bornbyariver October 3, 2012 at 10:12 am #

    perspective is everything!

Leave a Reply

