A Serious Question

24 Sep

I have a very serious question for you today.

Why?? Doesn’t seem fair, does it? I’m all about 4-day work weeks – who’s with me? :)

Today is the start of a new week. {I know – you’re shocked, aren’t you?}

I actually feel a little bad for Mondays. Everyone hates them. No one wants to be their friend. It’s kind of sad, actually. The word “Monday” even sounds like a dirty word, doesn’t it?

I used to dread the beginning of the week. When I was a kid, I would get that Sunday night slump just thinking of having to get up early and go back to school the next day.

It can be especially tough to get going on a Monday morning. Getting up early, making breakfast and lunches, getting the kids off to school, getting yourself to work – and that’s all before 8:00 am!

Although I’m older and {hopefully} slightly wiser, I’m still not overjoyed about Mondays . . . but there’s a part of me that likes what they represent. Think about it.

Mondays represent fresh starts.

Mondays represent new beginnings.

Mondays represent a chance to try again.

Whatever happened last week is behind you. If it went well, great! I’m really glad it did. If it stunk, I’m sorry – but it’s time to shake off the stink and start over.

You have 10,080 minutes of life staring you in the face. So much possibility, opportunity, and hope right here for the taking! All you have to do is embrace it and step forward into it.

What if we grabbed hold of this Monday and determined to give it all we’ve got? What if we shook off the foggy brains, the sleep deprivation, and dread and eagerly welcomed the chance to start this week? We could do amazing things!

Let’s get to it!

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. – Lamentations 3:22-23

Have a beautiful week, friends.
♥ Rachel

Leave a Reply

