The Weather’s Turning Chilly {A Chili Recipe Roundup}

21 Sep

It’s that time of year! Chilly, crisp mornings, comfortable afternoons, and relaxing cool evenings. Everything feels so fresh and light – especially on days when the temps stay around 75 with very little humidity. In the South, a day with little or no humidity is a day for celebration!! :)

With the cooler weather, football games, and usual Fall activities, I’ve been thinking it’s time to make some chili. I love chili – it’s so easy to make and tastes divine after all the flavors blend together and cook for several hours. When I make my chili, I always start with Bush’s Chili Magic starter as a base and go from there. You can’t beat Bush’s Beans, in my opinion.

White Chicken Chili from Jenna’s Journey uses lower fat cream cheese in place of heavy cream. Looks good to me! I love thicker chilis and soups like this.

Black Bean Taco Soup from Six Sisters’ Stuff is one of my favorite foods, though I rarely make it. When I make it, I also throw in a packet of Hidden Valley Ranch dressing mix. This is great over rice, tortilla chips, fritos, or just on its own.

White Chicken Chili from How to: Simplify makes me think of a dressed-up chicken soup. It’s substantial, very customizable, and tastes best when you use fresh ingredients.

Jane’s Vegetarian Chili from Cooking Light would not be one of my favorites, but I figured there might be a vegetarian reading this and wanted to give everyone an option. :)

My friend, Susan, aka The Savvy Sister, makes a no-meat Vegan Chili that she swears could fool any meat-lover. Susan is a cancer survivor who pours her heart into encouraging others to live a health lifestyle. {She’s also the the little voice in my head asking me if I really want to do that whenever I put something sweet in my mouth!} This chili can be ready in 30 minutes, so it would make a great after-work dinner.

Crock Pot Chicken Taco Chili from Skinny Taste is a chicken-based spin on the Black Bean Taco Soup shown above. The greatest part is that one serving of this chili is only 3 Weight Watchers points (or 5 points using the new Points+ system).

Frito Chili Pie from The Pioneer Woman will not get any healthy designation, but it looks like a fun option for a football party or feeding the kids one night. Wouldn’t they love eating chili out of a Frito chip bag??

Smokey White Bean Chicken Chili from That’s Some Good Cookin’ adds a little smokey flavo to the traditional white bean chicken chili, as well as a tomato base.

Hope your tummies stay full, warm, and happy this weekend!
♥ Rachel

4 Responses to “The Weather’s Turning Chilly {A Chili Recipe Roundup}”

  1. The Savvy Sister September 21, 2012 at 6:48 am #

    I won’t be insulted that you didn’t include my vegan chili, that ok Rachel…really…I don’t mind…really, I don’t. Even though mine has won neighborhood chili cook offs up against meat-containing chilis and is the preferred chili for my horribly picky meat-and-potato eating brother-in-law.

    Please don’t feel the need to apologize or anything…there is no need for it, Rachel. Don’t.

    • rachturner September 21, 2012 at 8:56 am #

      Ahhhh!!! You absolutely crack me up!! I totally forgot about your vegan chili . . . BUT I have since added it to this post! :) :)

      • The Savvy Sister September 21, 2012 at 9:16 am #

        Haha! Rachel! I totally didn’t mean it seriously! But thanks. Pretty much everything I say is sarcasm. Haven’t you learned that by now?
        ;-)

    • rachturner September 21, 2012 at 9:45 am #

      I knew you were kidding – but it’s a good recipe worth including!! :)

Leave a Reply

