The Miracle of Enthusiasm

18 Sep

Nothing great was ever accomplished without enthusiasm. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

When was the last time you approached a new day with enthusiasm? Think about it. I’m talking about the kind of enthusiasm that made you excited to get out of bed and eager to head to the office, or school, or wherever you might be working – the kind of enthusiasm that was full of determination, optimism, and energy.

source: pinterest

In the interest of keeping it real, I can’t remember the last time I was excited to get out of bed (just ask Barry about how long the blaring alarm clock can buzz right beside my head!) because – as I’ve said before – I loooovvvvve my sleep. I have a close, personal relationship with my pillow. We’re tight. But I’m getting distracted. And a little sleepy. :)

Back to the topic at hand. Do we usually wake up each morning and enthusiastically get ready for our day? Usually not, huh? Well, let’s think about this for a minute – what exactly does enthusiasm mean?

Dictionary.com says it means lively interest.

Lively interest.

So, when was the last time we approached a day with lively interest? What could we accomplish if we were truly enthusiastic about the day, the work we had to do, and the interactions with people that we would have? What could we all accomplish with that kind of attitude and mindset?? The possibilities are endless!

Enthusiasm is a change agent.

It turns a project into a purpose.

It turns an assignment into an adventure.

It turns a boring day into a bountiful day.

It turns a sour attitude into a welcoming smile.

Oh,don’t forget to smile. It can make so many things better – not just for you, but for those around you.

Maybe you are facing some days with dread, fear, or even apathy (which is a whole danger in and of itself). You may not be able to change your circumstances, but you can absolutely change the way you approach your circumstances.

source: pinterest

While things can always be completed without enthusiasm, it is the addition of enthusiasm – that lively interest – that takes an average accomplishment and makes it spectacular!

Rise up and attack this day (don’t wait for tomorrow!) with bold enthusiasm. If you’re not feeling it, pray and ask God to give you a big, fat dose of it this morning. He’ll do it.

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men. – Colossians 3:23

♥ Rachel

7 Responses to “The Miracle of Enthusiasm”

  1. Betsy September 18, 2012 at 8:35 am #

    Thank you so much for taking time to write! I appreciate it so much. Your daily words speak to and encourage me in ways you may never know. God uses you for sure!!!

    • rachturner September 18, 2012 at 9:28 am #

      Thanks for commenting, Betsy! Your words mean a lot to me.

  2. Keeks September 18, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    Rachel! This is exactly what I needed to hear! I can’t remember the last time I was enthusiastic and full of lively interest – especially putting my feet on the floor in the morning. Rise up and attack – I am on it! Thank you!

    • rachturner September 18, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

      You know what? Me, either! This was a challenge to myself to wake up and face the day with enthusiasm. I don’t usually dread each day, but my approach is a bit lackluster. Glad you’re on it! Hope you had a successful, lively interesting day. :)

      • Keeks September 26, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

        I think I need to reread your post today! LOL!

  3. Cara Olsen September 18, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

    Reading this post perked me more than my morning cup of coffee. Thank you, Rachel. I am feeling overwhelmed, as if I cannot do enough, quickly enough. Today I will do what I can, all for the Glory of the Lord — may He be the force that drives my day!

    Blessings to you!

    ~ Cara

    • rachturner September 18, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

      More than your coffee?? Whoa! :) That’s the key, Cara – do what you can for God’s glory – and by doing so, what you do will be enough and it will be good!

Leave a Reply

