Redemption on a Monday

17 Sep

Man, those weekends really fly by, don’t they? :) Hope you had a beautiful one. Auburn won (barely), so I’m relieved. I really do love football Saturdays.

source: The above print, and others like it are available in the RedLetter Ink Etsy Shop. They have some cute stuff!

I grew up in Southern Baptist churches. We were there every Sunday, every Wednesday, and for anything in between. I remember napping against my mom or dad’s shoulder when I was too young to care why I was there and too bored to stay awake.  :)  I was in the youth group, sang in the choir, girls ensemble, and went on mission trips (those were some good times!). I even worked as a church secretary for two years.

I cherish those young years at church, the friends I made who are still friends today, and the lessons learned. What I cherish most is the foundation of faith that my parents gave to me and my sisters.

Because of my life-long exposure to the church, I’m familiar with Biblical terminology. Words such as apostle, baptism, disciples, fruit of the spirit, redeemed, salvation, sin, testimony, and many others. Because I’m familiar with them and have heard them for years and years and (well, we won’t go into how old I am!), I often miss their meaning – or maybe better stated – I fail to fully grasp the weight of their meaning and how it impacts my life.

Take redeemed, for example. It’s a word I know. I’ve heard it countless times. Redemption is even a word I use often at work when talking about coupon redemptions for products the company I work for sells. So I get the technical definition – I understand the concept of what it means for something to be redeemed.

But do I really get what it means for ME to be redeemed?

Because I believe that God created the heavens and the earth, that He sent Jesus Christ to be born as a baby to grow into a man who would die a horrible death on a cross, and that Jesus rose from the grave on the third day after his crucifixion – I also believe that I have been redeemed. I believe that Jesus’ death was for my (and your) salvation. His death paid the price for my sin.

The definition of redeemed I am most familiar with is that when something is redeemed, it is given as payment for something else. A coupon is redeemed as payment for and item or service. A gift card as redeemed as payment for a purchase. A school voucher is redeemed in exchange for tuition at a particular school. To redeem something is to pay for it.

I have been redeemed because Jesus gave his life as payment for me – he paid the price for my sins, freeing me from their suffocating bondage. I no longer have to be buried under the weight of my mistakes, my failures because I have been redeemed.

I can think of no better way to begin a week than by taking in a deep breath of the reality – the truth – that as a child of God, I am fully redeemed, free, forgiven. And to help you get your day and week started, here is a video by Big Daddy Weave of one of their latest songs, Redeemed. The words are beautiful. Hope you enjoy and have a truly blessed day and week!

{You may need to click over to the blog to watch the video.}


♥ Rachel

3 Responses to “Redemption on a Monday”

  1. Merrile Stroud September 17, 2012 at 7:42 am #

    War Eagle :)

  2. Aimee Libby September 28, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    What a great post!! :) Sounds like we grew up a LOT alike…only I grew up in a small little “farm church” in rural Wisconsin. As you said, I wouldn’t trade those formative years for ANYTHING!

    Thank you for featuring our “Identity in Christ” print!! This is one of my all-time favorites…so much so that I have it printed on a large canvas right inside my front door so that all who enter our home are able to read it and know who we are in Christ’s eyes. What joy we have knowing that we are HIS!!

    Have a wonderful day!

    • rachturner September 28, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

      Thank you so much for stopping by, Aimee! I LOVE your work!! :)

Leave a Reply

