Patty, This FROG’s For You

28 Aug

As a follow up to yesterday’s post on turning complaints into gratitude, I had to follow my own advice while waiting at the dentist’s office yesterday afternoon. It’s not unusual to wait 15 minutes or more past the appointment time before getting called back. I texted Barry something like “I should always give them an extra 15 minutes before arriving because they’re never on time.” I felt convicted by the complaint and quickly texted him again to say “But I’m not complaining. Just glad I have teeth to clean!”  haha!!  It’s all in how you look at it, right?

source: pinterest

I recently learned the mother of one of my good friends has been diagnosed with a moderate to aggressive form of b-cell non-hodgkin’s lymphoma. She actually began treatment yesterday and will complete six cycles over the next 18 weeks. I hate this so much for Mrs. Bishop, for Patty, and for the rest of their family.

I began thinking about how it felt back when I was in their shoes, back when there was mountains of uncertainty, followed by a heart-stopping confirmation, followed by treatment discussions and treatment itself. So much information thrown at you, so many new realities to process, and one-thousand-four-hundred-eighty-seven emotions to go along with all of it.

When you are diagnosed with cancer, it only takes a few tests and some words from your doctor to forever change your life. Time is now marked by BC (before cancer) and AC (after cancer). The Earth literally feels different beneath your feet. What you knew to be familiar and true and sure no longer is. And this is true not only for the cancer patient, but for those who love and care for that person.

At times like this, it is important to remember FROG: Fully Rely on God (thanks to my sweet friend, Becky, for passing that little nugget along). If we fully rely on God, we will find peace in the midst of the most terrifying and challenging circumstances. If we fully rely on God, we will be able to rest in the knowledge that He’s got this. If we fully rely on God, we can face the good days and the bad with the same calm spirit.

How do we fully rely on God? We believe. We trust. We have faith. We hope. We relax. Ok, so the relaxing thing might be a stretch, but the others are very doable! :) We remind ourselves of His promises and then we take Him at His Word.

God promises that He is always with us. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age. – Matthew 28:20

God promises to be faithful. The one who calls you is faithful, and he will do it. – 1 Thessalonians 5:24

God promises to give us everything we need. And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus. – Philippians 4:19

WE KNOW that God is always with us. Even beyond that, we know that God is always good. AND God is faithful and will do what He says.

Patty nor her mom feel prepared for this new challenge; however, God has prepared them both for this day by surrounding them with family and friends to love and support them.

Please join me in praying for Patty and her mom, Mrs. Margaret Bishop.
♥ Rachel

4 Responses to “Patty, This FROG’s For You”

  1. Nancy Arrighi August 28, 2012 at 8:50 am #

    I worked with Patty a few years ago and my sister worked with her sister. I can totally relate to the first time hearing that I had cancer. And for me, the first time receiving the chemo was very hard on me. However, as soon as my Mother-in-law read a chapter out of Psalms, I felt very peaceful. That began our routine every week. As soon as the IV was in, she would read me a beautiful Psalms. Praying for Mrs. Bishop, Patty and the family!

    • rachturner August 28, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

      You are so right, Nancy – that first day of treatment is a tough one both emotionally and physically. I didn’t know that you knew Patty :)

  2. PlantBasedDietAdventures August 28, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    Your outlook is great. I was reading this morning of this same way “There’s a Spiritual Solution to Every Problem” by Wayne Dyer. Definitely a worthwhile read :)

    • rachturner August 30, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

      Thanks so much for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

