Friday Pearls

24 Aug

My brain is misfiring lately, shooting random thoughts here and blank thoughts there. So, in the spirit of sharing the randomocity {is that a word??} of my life at the moment, I thought I would share some pieces of wisdom I came across this week in my readings.  These are the pieces I highlighted, and then underlined with a pen, and then circled two or three times – they spoke to me that strongly.

source: thinkstockphotos.com

Stubborn Pride

Boyd Bailey shared this in his book, “Seeking Daily the Heart of God,” which I highly recommend. You can buy it from your Kindle for only $0.99. Boyd also has a fabulous website called Wisdom Hunters where you can find excellent Daily Devotions.

  • Stubborn pride acts as if it has everything together and doesn’t need the help of anyone, even God.
  • Stubborn pride rejects relational engagement that requires confession and forgiveness.
  • Stubborn pride melts under the heat of humility.
  • Do not negotiate with stubborn pride, but break it under the hammer of humility and replace it with love, respect, and forgiveness.

Non-Victim Mindset

This was another devotion this week from Boyd Bailey. In it, I found two nuggets of wisdom that spoke to me:

  • A “woe is me” attitude places the focus on you instead of your savior.
  • Jesus has overcome pain, suffer, and death.

Brokenness

Sarah Young wrote in her Jesus Callingdevotional this week that ,

I rarely heal all the brokenness in a person’s life. Even My servant Paul was told, “My grace is sufficient for you,” when he sought healing for the thorn in his flesh. Nonetheless, much healing is available to those whose lives are intimately interwoven withMine. Ask, and you will receive.

Lament

And in Ann Voskamp’s 1,000 Gifts{ the book I thought I would not really enjoy or be able to connect to has me underlining every other sentence } – she writes:

Lament is a cry of belief in a good God, a God who has His ear to our hearts, a God who transfigures the ugly into beauty. Complaint is the bitter howl of unbelief in any benevolent God in this moment, a distrust in the love-beat of the Father’s heart. True lament is the bold faith that trusts Perfect Love enough to feel and cry authentic.

And these are the words that have been wrestling around in my head this week. Good words that encourage, and yet give me pause as I evaluate my life practices against these author’s thoughts.

Enjoy your weekend!
♥ Rachel

Leave a Reply

