What If Today?

23 Aug

I’m so happy to tell you that I felt good yesterday – relatively speaking. It’s interesting when you have days and days of feeling ‘eh’ or worse, that one day of feeling not-too-bad is almost euphoric! Thank you, THANK YOU ALL for your prayers and sweet words. Each letter of every word means so much to me.

I would also like to give a BIG, HUGE, GINORMOUS shout-out to two of my friends who signed up to participate in the American Cancer Society’s CPS-3 Study that I mentioned a while back and had their interviews this week. Pattie and Barb – you guys totally ROCK!! I am SO proud of you and incredibly thrilled that you are doing something that will help future cancer patients! Way to go, Chickies!!

I saw this print come through in my Facebook feed yesterday and loved it so much I wanted to share it with you.

I love what it says, the positive feelings it invokes, and the possibility that lies within these simple words. As I read through this,I thought, “oh, that’s cute.” Then I re-read it and a few of the statements really caught me. If I lived with these ideas in mind, I would actually act differently.

source: sissyprint
{go visit, they have great freebies and fun things in their Etsy shop!}

Bear each other’s burdens? Have I ever truly done that or do I give a hug, say a prayer, send a card, maybe even cook a meal, and then feel satisfied that I’ve done my part. I think there is much more sacrifice required if we truly want to live out this concept.

Forgive and forget? Noble? Maybe. Easy to apply to our lives? Not hardly. Necessary? Yes. For the forgiver and the forgiven. I usually let my pride get in the way. Let’s think about it. If God can forgive us of all our sins, how can we not forgive another human who is as flawed as we are?

Be proud of each other? Not jealous or wishing that person wouldn’t get all the blessings that they get. Be truly proud – and happy – that your friend, family member, co-worker is experiencing success of some form. This isn’t easy to do when things are not going so peachy-keen for us, but it’s worth a try. We all need cheerleaders who remind us of how wonderful we are. Why not be that cheerleader for someone in your life?

What would happen if we all took these suggestions to heart today? Can you imagine what we could change in just one day? Oh, the possibilities! :)

Love you much, friends.
♥ Rachel

2 Responses to “What If Today?”

  1. Becky August 23, 2012 at 6:07 am #

    I’m so glad you had a good day. Thanks for another wonderful message. You brighten my days. Love you lots!

    • rachturner August 23, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

      Your comments bright MY days!! Love you Becky!

Leave a Reply

