The God Who Heals

20 Aug

If you’re in a similar place as me right now, you may be asking for healing from God.  You might want healing for yourself or for someone you love.  The healing might be physical, but it could also be spiritual, relational, or emotional in nature.

source: pinterest

I would like to be healed from the headaches and neck pain that are following me around like a lost puppy – except this puppy is not that cute and he keeps nipping at my sanity on a daily basis.  :)  I felt pretty nice Friday and Saturday – guess I was still riding the steroid wave from Thursday’s treatment.  But Sunday morning met me with a not-so-lovely migraine + intense neck pain.  Bummer.  After a few miserable hours and some potent migraine drugs, I received relief from the headache.  The neck pain remained throughout the day and is still with me.

And all I have to say about that is BRING ON THE MRI!  :)  Have mercy.  If this test does not show something that can be fixed or treated, I’m going to croak.  Like a frog.  Right there in the doctor’s office.  I’m not kidding.

Those of us who are dealing with ongoing pain issues – whether it be physical pain or pain of the heart – know what it’s like to want relief.  Those of you who have lived with pain issues for years and years, well, my heart truly goes out to you as I have now caught just a teeny-tiny glimpse of your suffering.  My mom is a long-time back pain sufferer and this experience has really opened my eyes to what she struggles with daily.

It’s important for all of us to remember that, through these trials, we are being refined.  We may not WANT to be refined in this way, but . . . we are.  What we need to accept is that God has a bigger plan than anything we can see right now.  It’s possible, our pain is a part of that bigger plan.

{I’m preaching to myself, feel free to listen in if you like!  :) }

Through any difficulty, painful experience, or health problem, God can use those moments of weakness, struggle, and sometimes complete desperation to draw us closer to Him.  Let Him.  Don’t get so focused on your pain, your loss, your situation that you forget to look to Him for help.  It’s easy to do.  Sometimes the physical pain is so great, you can’t concentrate.  Sometimes your heart is so overwhelmed by a situation you can’t think of anything else.  You have to clear away the clutter and make room for God.  Allowing your circumstances to become bigger than Him will only create more problems.

And remember these things:

God Heals.
Praise the Lord, my soul . . . who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases. – Psalm 103:3

God Cares.
And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus. – Philippians 4:19

God Gives.
For the Lord God is a sun and shield; the Lord bestows favor and honor; no good thing does he withhold from those whose walk is blameless. – Psalm 84:11

God Answers.
He will call on me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him. – Psalm 91:15

Praying you have a blessed day, free from pain or worry.
♥ Rachel

4 Responses to “The God Who Heals”

  1. The Savvy Sister August 20, 2012 at 8:07 am #

    Hope you feel better Rachel!

  2. Becky Robinson August 20, 2012 at 9:08 am #

    Praying they find out what is causing your pain and that it can be relieved. God always takes care of his children and he will definitely take care of you. Just remember FROG (Fully rely on God). Love you lots!!

    • rachturner August 21, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

      Thanks, Becky! Love FROG – hadn’t heard that before, but could really use that reminder now. Love you!

Leave a Reply

