What I Learned From A Cake (and a Recipe)

15 Aug

If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. – John 15:7

I made this Cinnamon Streusel Apple Cake last weekend.  The recipe came from the side of the Martha White Cinnamon Streusel Coffee Cake mix.  I have a thing for recipes from the side of boxes.  Not sure why, I’m just drawn to them.  Maybe they seem easy.  Easy’s my thing when it comes to baking.  And cooking.  And pretty much anything else.  :)

I got a little over-zealous with the apple chopping and ended up with bits of apple that were very fine – almost too fine to taste or notice they were even in the cake.  (Look closely – you can hardly tell there are apples in it!)

As I ate the first piece and realized how tiny the apple bits were, my mind began to wander . . . and wonder.

Are these little, tiny pieces of apple indicative of my relationship with God?  Have I chopped Him up into tiny bits and sprinkled Him lightly throughout the pieces of my life making His Presence so tiny it’s hard to notice at times?  {Gulp.}

Do I go deep with God, allowing Him access to the dark corners of my heart?  Do I accept His guidance daily in everything, or do I prefer that He be on standby just in case I need Him?

My actions indicate that I want a big, active God when I have big issues.  I mean, seriously.  What do you think I did as soon as I learned I had cancer??  I prayed.  Hard.  And I didn’t stop.

But what about all the in-between times?  Those moments in between the health crises, relationship struggles, financial issues, or job concerns?  Do I invite Him into those “little” times, as well?

Not usually.  Why?  Because I am crazy stupid enough to believe that I can actually handle all of the little things without Him – that I don’t need to bother Him with my tiny stuff because He has more important issues to tend to.

The truth is, it’s all important to Him.  Big stuff, little stuff, and in-between stuff.  It all matters.  If I will allow God to guide me in the little things, I will be better equipped to handle the big things.

I don’t want my life to look like this cake where, like the itty bitty apple chunks, God’s presence can barely be detected.  I want to remain in Him so that I am filled with His grace, His love, His mercy, and His guidance each day.

Care to join me?

Martha White Cinnamon Streusel Apple Cake

Ingredients

Crisco Original No-Stick Cooking Spray
1 (21 oz.) package Martha White Cinnamon Streusel Coffee Cake Mix
1/2 cup water
1 large egg
2 tablespoons Crisco Pure Vegetable Oil
2 cups finely chopped, peeled apple
1 tablespoon butter, melted
2/3 cup chopped pecans

Directions

Heat oven to 350° F. Coat 13 x 9-inch baking pan with no-stick cooking spray.

Reserve 3/4 cup streusel for topping.  Combine remaining streusel, coffee cake mix, water, egg and oil in medium bowl.  Stir 30 strokes or until combined.  Stir in apples.  Spread evenly in prepared pan.

Combine reserved streusel and butter until crumbs form.  Stir in pecans.  Sprinkle over top of batter.

Bake 35 to 40 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Let cool and enjoy!  You can also find the recipe on the Martha White website.

Have a wonderful day!
♥ Rachel

5 Responses to “What I Learned From A Cake (and a Recipe)”

  1. Teresa August 15, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    If this is the martha white recipe that makes a skillet coffee cake (using a cast iron skillet) I’ve made this several times. It’s really delicious.

    • rachturner August 15, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

      It’s not the one in the skillet, but that sounds delicious – I’ll have to look it up.

  2. Carolyn August 15, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

    Thanks for the cake recipe but the most important thing was the in between moments really need to hear that today. Thanks the Lord provided a great message from you. Was for me.

    • rachturner August 17, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

      Hi Carolyn – So glad it helped you. :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Carolina Skillet Cake | Can't Stay Out of the Kitchen - August 16, 2012

    […] someone else posted a recipe very similar from Martha White last week on a food blog. (Her post is here).  You will also find the exact same recipe on the Crisco […]

Leave a Reply

