Farewell Summer Commute {And an Unglued Winner!}

13 Aug

With a tear in my eye, I bid farewell to my glorious summer commute.  While the students all slumbered in their beds {til well past a reasonable hour to rise}, I drove blissfully happy on my 25 mile trek to work each morning.  I knew in May, there were hints of this sweet annual season arriving.  Traffic would be slightly less each day, teasing me and preparing me for the beauty that would arrive after the final day of school in Hamilton County.

source: thinkstockphotos.com

It was fun while it lasted, but all good things must come to an end.  Hamilton County classes resume today.  That means schools zones, one amazingly cranky traffic director, and too many cars on the road.  My friend, the summer commute is gone.  For now.

No more breezing to work in a sweet 20 minutes.  No more smooth traffic flow through the I-75/I-24 split.  No more sliding around the ridgecut with ease.  No more rest for my car brakes.  No more mornings full of singing with the radio oblivious to the problems that exist in the world.  The utopia of summer driving will be missed dearly. {snif. . .}

Now there will be bumper-to-bumper gridlock.  Now there will be horns honking and people cutting in line.  Now there will be more people riding someone’s bumper to prevent another car from squeezing in at the last minute {I would never do that – haha!}.  Now there will be headaches and annoyances and frustration . . . on a daily basis.  And worst of all, we’ll be doing 25 mph on the interstate . . . if we’re lucky.

Oh, summer commute, how I will miss you!

Until we meet again next Spring, I ask that you pop in and visit me from time to time.  Maybe Fall break or the Christmas holidays would be a nice time.  I will remember our time together fondly.  With a sad, reluctant heart, I bid you farewell!

************************************

We have a winner of two copies of Lysa TerKeurt’s new book, Unglued!

Let me be honest here – I WISH I could afford to give each of you a copy!  Your comments were so sweet and touching – thank you for opening up to me.

Random.org says the winner is Shari R.!  Shari was our 12th commenter.  Congrats, Shari!!  Send an email to me at rachturnerblog@gmail.com so that we can chat about which format you want (print, kindle, nook) and I can get your contact information.

Hope you all have a wonderful week!
♥ Rachel

5 Responses to “Farewell Summer Commute {And an Unglued Winner!}”

  1. Jennifer August 13, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    For us in the north, we have a few more weeks of incredibly light traffic. Then after labor day, I will be back to an hour and a half commute on most days with impatient drivers. Oh how I love summer!!

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

      JS – I guess I can’t complain when your commute is 90 minutes, huh?

  2. Jennifer Cooper August 13, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    I loved this post…the bumper-to-bumper commute was one of the primary reasons we moved to Missionary Ridge earlier this year. But you do have another option…just come in to work at 6am. You should breeze through the 24/75 split and the Ridgecut with no traffic! :) And think of all the work you’ll get done with no interruptions (snoring or otherwise).

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

      JC – You know I’m not doing the 6 am thing – no way, no how. :)

  3. Facing Cancer (@cancer2gether) August 14, 2012 at 8:46 am #

    Oh Well, at least you know it will come again next spring!

    Catherine
    http://www.facingcancer.ca

Leave a Reply

