One Whole Year + {A Giveaway!}

9 Aug

One year ago today, Barry and I walked into the chemotherapy treatment room as newbies.  We were both anxious, but ready to get started!  I had waited so long for a final diagnosis that I desperately wanted this day to arrive so that I could start putting this invisible enemy in its place.

I selected one of the grey vinyl recliners and sat down with my chemo blanket in my lap and bag of magazines, snacks, drinks, and electronics to get me through the day.  There was a firm, plastic guest chair beside me for Barry.  Good.  That meant he wouldn’t be far away if I needed him.  And I was certain I would need him.  I would need him a lot in the months to come.

My eyes were wide, taking in all of the details and every second of activity going on in the room.  My breathing was calm.  Maybe too calm.  At times, I had to remind myself to breath.  (I tend to forget to breath when I’m nervous.  It’s a bad habit.)

Has it possibly been 365 days since that very first day?  This has been the fastest, longest year of my life.

One year ago, I couldn’t imagine what today would look like or what I would be doing.  I couldn’t fathom what it would feel like to be one year into this new reality.  And now I’m living it.  And, for the most part, it feels pretty normal.

The one over-arching lesson I learned first-hand this past year.  That always, ALWAYS, God will meet all my needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus. (Phil. 4:19)  He did on Chemo Day 1 and He continues to do so.

Now for the giveaway!

Since today is a big milestone in this journey of mine (and tomorrow is the anniversary of my first blog post – woohoo!), I want to give something away!  There is a brand new book by Lysa TerKeurst that released just this week and I’ve been waiting for it to come out!  The book is called Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions.

Unglued will equip you to:

  • Know with confidence how to resolve conflict in your important relationships.
  • Find peace in your most difficult relationships as you learn to be honest but kind when offended.
  • Identify what type of reactor you are and how to significantly improve your communication.
  • Respond with no regrets by managing your tendencies to stuff, explode or react somewhere in between.
  • Gain a deep sense of calm by responding to situations out of your control without acting out of control.

I can completely relate to this topic!!  In my lifetime, I’ve had plenty of too many “unglued” moments.  And unless you are a saint, I would bet you can relate, too. {grin} Lysa is funny, personable, and shares stories from her own life to show you how she is learning to not come unglued when big and little issues arise.

Visit the Unglued Book website to learn more about it, read a sample chapter, and download some free resources, including an Unglued Assessment (if you’re brave enough {grin}).

I am giving away two copies of Unglued (in the formats of your choice – paperback, kindle, nook, etc.).  One copy is for you, the other is for you to give to a friend.  That way you can read it together and discuss the amazing insight you will glean from it!   (When was the last time you used “glean” in a sentence???  Anyone?)

All you have to do to enter is leave a comment here before 8:00 PM EDT Sunday (8/12).  You can say anything in the comment.  Tell me why you would like this book, tell me what you ate for breakfast, tell me your favorite color!  Just tell me something to enter.  :)

I’ll announce the winner on Monday.

If you’d like to tell your friends about the giveaway, feel free to copy these ready-made Tweets and Posts:

For Twitter:  Enter to win two copies of @LysaTerKeurst Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions! http://wp.me/p5Xpj-1BH #ungluedbook

For Facebook:  Enter to win two copies of Lysa TerKeurst’s new book, Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions! http://wp.me/p5Xpj-1BH

♥ Rachel

76 Responses to “One Whole Year + {A Giveaway!}”

  1. Merrile Stroud August 9, 2012 at 6:58 am #

    Rachel- I would love to win t.he book. Being able to use your blog to a hungry yoga population has been the best blessing & I know this book would offer even more blessings to share! XO- merrile

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

      Merrile – I am so touched that you use things from this blog to inspire others!

  2. Nancy Arrighi August 9, 2012 at 8:11 am #

    Rachel, Congratulations on your one-year anniversary. Time goes by so fast. I just had my one-year anniversary for when I stopped chemotherapy and also one-year being cancer free. I agree with Merrile. Your blog has been a blessing to me. It is one of the first things I pull up and read in the morning. I’m sure the book will bless me as well. Love, Nancy A.

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

      Nancy – Thank you for the encouraging words!

  3. Cindy Montgomery August 9, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    Rachel, you are a blessing to those who read your blog. I admire those who can express themselves so well in the written word. God is using you in a mighty way. Blessings to you and Barry.

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

      Thank you, Cindy! So glad to have you and Jim for neighbors!

  4. Susan Johnsey August 9, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

    Rachel,
    Your blog has given me direction on how to pray for you and others, inspired me, encouraged me, made me smile, made me sad, and even, at times, even made me hungry!!

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

      Susan – SO glad I could make you hungry! :) Thank you for reading so faithfully – it means the world to me.

  5. Pattie August 9, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    Congratulations Rachel on your one year anniversary! What a huge milestone. Loving the blog and feeling a little unglued myself right now, so count me in Girl! Seriously your blog has been such an inspiration to me and I’m sure to many, many others as well. God is using you Rachel in a special way.

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

      Pattie – Sorry about the unglued-ness of your life at the moment. Praying for you that things get better.

  6. Diane t. Abbondante August 9, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

    Just starting receiving your daily emails to my inbox and have enjoyed them. I will continue to keep you in my prayers for a speedy cure and recovery. Diane A.

  7. bornbyariver August 10, 2012 at 12:42 am #

    Congratulations! One year down, many more to go :)

  8. Cindy Edmonds August 10, 2012 at 10:04 am #

    I am so proud of the way you have handled this year with grace. I have enjoyed reading your blog every day. It is like we are able to talk every day eventhough we live apart. Love you!

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

      Cindy – You’re going to make me cry! Love you, girl. Thank you for walking this road with me!

  9. donna mcclure August 10, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    WOW – Rachel I had no idea you were going through all this.. You are such an inspiration to me (as well as others) . For you to have taken this journey and overcome such unnerving obstaces…You are one strong lady..God is so good !!!! I have read and enjoyed your blogs. They are very well written, its almost like we are there with you.

    As far as the book goes, the description seems to apply to several things I mysef am struggling with. I would love to read it- I will read it even If I have to purchase it :) ..

    I am going to keep you and the rest of the family lifted up in prayer- take care ,we will see each other soon :) :) :)

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

      Donna – Yep, it’s been a crazy year. Thank you for your prayers – I really appreciate them – will return the favor for you, too! Hope to see you soon!

  10. Ginger sterling August 10, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

    You inspire me daily. Thank you for giving us a peek into your life over the past year. You continue to amaze me! Love ya!

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

      Ginger – YOU inspire me! Love you, girl.

  11. Emmeline Joyce (@emmxxx96) August 11, 2012 at 6:56 am #

    It’s awesome. Congrats! Would love to have one. :)

  12. Shari R August 11, 2012 at 7:01 am #

    Thank you for the opportunity! I would love to read this book together with my daughter-in-law. I also look forward to reading more of your blog!

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

      Congrats, Shari, on being our winner!!! :) Check your inbox for a message from me.

  13. jimbo6424 August 11, 2012 at 7:06 am #

    I love your blog! I love to expand my mind. Praying is as much a part of my day as food is, I need both to make it through the day, and without either I grow weak, thank you for your time, knowledge and your compassion to write, thank you and God Bless!

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

      Jimbo – Thank you so much for your encouragement!

  14. Vickie Giangualano August 11, 2012 at 7:12 am #

    I’m so looking forward to reading “Unglued “–since suddenly losing my loving husband and best friend 3 years ago, I struggle sometimes to keep it all together. God has been so amazing and has blessed me so much, and He continues to put the right people and church activity and materials in front of me to guide and strengthen me. God bless you!

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

      Vickie – I am so sorry about the loss of your husband. I am impressed that you are able to see God’s blessings in your life in the midst of your grief. Praying you continue to grow stronger and more whole every day.

  15. Tracy August 11, 2012 at 7:15 am #

    Congrats on your anniversary!
    Great give-away! :)

  16. Shannon August 11, 2012 at 7:19 am #

    Great post, can’t wait to read Unglued!

  17. Tina B. August 11, 2012 at 7:25 am #

    Wow…congratulations on your one year mark! That is awesome.

    I would love a copy of this book and would give the other to my best friend/accountability partner. We are both struggling through some situations in which I believe this book good help us deal with in a more God- honoring fashion. Thank you!!

  18. Lori August 11, 2012 at 7:28 am #

    Thanks for sharing your story to bless others! Happy Anniversary! Can’t wait to read Unglued.

  19. Beckie August 11, 2012 at 7:29 am #

    FYI: I found out about your blog because Lysa TurKeurst posted it herself on Twitter. How cool is that? I was blessed to find this blog and I hope that I am the blessed winner of this amazing book. I’m looking forward to reading it! Lysa has been a great encourager, through her ministries, to my mothering years.

  20. Jeanie Yarbrough August 11, 2012 at 7:34 am #

    I love Lysa and her work- would be blessed by this book. I led about 80 women in a summer study and we’re considering this one for next year!

  21. nancyferrin August 11, 2012 at 7:44 am #

    hi sweet Rachel — I am experiencing a very hard season with lots of unknowns and heartaches. Yet through it all I am thankful for God’s faithfulness and presence with me. Most recently my 3rd son has been falsely charged (and beaten) by a policeman – the police filed untrue statements about what happened and the newspapers are picking it up as true. Please pray !! My heart is broken – he is a great young man who has struggled in the past but was doing so well. I think I am about to come unglued. Thanks for considering me for the book. Blessings, Nancy in NH

  22. Elise C. August 11, 2012 at 7:52 am #

    Congratulations on your one-year! Thanks for the chance to win!

  23. Angela Nabors August 11, 2012 at 7:55 am #

    Hi. I would like Lisa’s book because I have 5 teenagers, and lately am feeling like I am coming unglued. Definitely sounds like it would be good for me to read.

  24. lissiet August 11, 2012 at 7:57 am #

    Man I would so love to win!

  25. Susie Daggett August 11, 2012 at 8:06 am #

    Thanks for the drawing!

  26. Crystal August 11, 2012 at 8:10 am #

    I just found your blog and am very intrigued by your Journey. Lost my brother to cancer 3 months ago and it happened so fast there were no opportunities to say goodbye.

  27. Jaci August 11, 2012 at 8:18 am #

    Love Lysa’s writing, definitely need to learn some of the things Unglued teaches…love you for this giveaway!!!

  28. Naomi August 11, 2012 at 8:19 am #

    I would love to read ungludded!!!!!

  29. chargaile (Charlotte Askew) August 11, 2012 at 8:32 am #

    August 9th marked the one year anniversary that we learned my husband had colon cancer, this came on top of learning 2 weeks earlier that he had prostrate cancer. How well we remember that first day of chemo with the unknowing looming over us. But, we had God in our lives and when we stopped long enough to take a deep breath, and focus on Him, the fears went away. Praising God that although the chemo was rough, he is now colon cancer free.
    I too would love to win the book, I want to do the study that Melissa Taylor will host in a few weeks. However, we are senior citizens and live on a very small and can’t afford to purchase the book. I do have faith that God will provide.

  30. Lee P. August 11, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    Right now being unemployed is causing me to become unglued. I just graduated with my Masters in May, and I still don’t have a job offer. Being unemployed doesn’t mean the lights or the rent or the car note can’t be paid. I am holding on to God’s promise, but I am being worn in ways I never imagined.

  31. Marcy Duquette August 11, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    I am Marcy. My favorite colors are red & purple. I am a dog person, have two jack Russell terriers. I work in a non profit Christian childcare and take care of the billing. I’m married and have two daughters. I lost my son when he was 12 to leukemia. I cried reading the description of your book. I would really really really like to read this book!!

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

      Hi Marcy – I am so sorry about the loss of your son. I cannot even imagine that kind of grief. Lysa’s book seems to be on a topic that could help us all.

  32. ONGECHI OKIOMA August 11, 2012 at 9:15 am #

    congrats!!!! am your follower from Kenya that would like to receive your book. please!!!!!!!

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

      Thanks, Ongechi! Nice to hear from Kenya!!

  33. Jayme Young August 11, 2012 at 9:16 am #

    I understand your journey. Even though I did not have cancer I am celebrating my one year anniversary for being out of the hospital. I had an abscess in my brain. Very weird to me but God provided miracles and great doctors. So blessed to actually have some unglued moments no matter how crazy they can make you!!!

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

      Jayme – A brain abscess sounds incredibly frightening and serious! I am so glad you are out of the hospital and doing well.

  34. Jenny Lewis August 11, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    I would love to win this giveaway! Thank you do much for the opportunity to enter!

  35. Ginger Mullis August 11, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    I would love to win the copies of Unglued! There has never been a time in my life that the title would be an accurate description of my life right now! My husband lost his job after being employed for the last 24 years. At 51, the job market looks pretty bleak, but we are strong in our faith that God is in control and will see us through. I catch myself on what seems like a rollercoaster of emotion each and everyday, but I know this book would help! My daughter and I will use it as a book club with other teachers. Congratulations on your one year anniversary!! God bless!

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

      Ginger – You are living through some frightening days. You’re right – God is in control and He WILL see you through. Stay strong sweet friend!

  36. Jennifer Mauney August 11, 2012 at 11:29 am #

    Lysa has been such an inspiration to me. I’m reading her Made To Crave devotional book right now. I would love to win a copy of Unglued! Already have a friend in mind to give the second copy to. :)

  37. Melissa August 11, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    I would love to have these books to give to a couple of the ladies that come to my house for Bible study. Our small group is beginning the “Unglued” DVD and participants guide/study on Tuesday. Not all of them can afford to buy the “Unglued” book, in addition to the participants guide.
    I am reading “Unglued” now. What a great resource for women! I can identify with all the examples Lysa uses to describe explosions and stuffing. I truly believe that it will assist me in making “imperfect progress”.
    Thank you for your willingness to share Lysa’s book!

  38. Kerri H. August 11, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    I miss the old days when “gleaning” was an active part of daily life. Need to find a field somewhere! :-) There, vocabulary enhancement for the day complete. Congrats on being a year out. #can’thelpbutpraiseHim

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

      Kerri – Kudos on using “gleaning” in your comment!! :)

  39. Cindi Mullinax August 11, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    I LOVED the book Maded to to Crave and absolutely can’t wait to. Read this one. I have told both of my daughters and both my sisters and my mother they have to read it

  40. Lisa Holz August 11, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

    First time at your site. To God Be The Glory for you. I came unglued just last night at my sister’s unjust lashing. Been watching & waiting for this book for far too long. Thanks for the opportunity.

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

      Lisa – I’m sorry about your experience with your sister. Praying that you are able to obtain a copy of the book and that it helps you deal with the situation.

  41. Esalu david martin August 11, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    I need also to land samething from that book and see how to handle my life.

  42. Lisa August 11, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

    I could really use this book. I find myself not handling conflict very well lately.

  43. Deborah PInnell August 11, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    I would love to win this for my friend and myself.

  44. Jennifer Byron August 11, 2012 at 1:54 pm #

    Hello, Miss Rachel!

    I love how positive you are during this nightmare! We recently found out my mother has stage 4 uterine cancer. I would like the books to assist us in learning to cope with the feelings and thoughts we are all experiencing. Either way, I plan on getting the books.

    Please know you are in my thoughts and prayers!
    Love,
    Jen

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

      Jen!!! So good to hear from you!! I am SO, SO sorry about your mom! That just breaks my heart. I hate cancer. Stay strong my friend! I will be keeping you all in my prayers.

  45. Carolyn August 11, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

    I pray God continues to bless you through this journey. Attitude is SO important! Can’t wait to read Unglued….love LTerKeurst!

  46. Jamie F. August 11, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

    I would love to win this book! Thanks for the opportunity!!

  47. robynwbuxton August 11, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    Wonderful blog, glad I stumbled upon.!!

  48. Holly Bussa August 11, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    I’d love to read this book…I think it could be very helpful. :)

  49. Amy August 11, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

    I would love the book, because we have a Whole lot of hormones going on at my house & I want to be an example to my daughters how to let God be fully in charge of my emotions, not just my mind & heart.

    Thank you for sharing about your 1st day of chemo it is so important to be reminded that God has got this & he meets our needs!! Thank you I was strengthened & encouraged by your testimony.

  50. Robin August 11, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

    Getting the P31 devotions in my email daily has been a blessing to me for close to a year now! A book to read and share would slow me to pass on those blessings too!

  51. Carolyn August 12, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

    One thing is for sure the Lord has a plan for you and your fullfilling it. Keeping you and yours in our prayers..

  52. createdtobebeautiful August 12, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

    I know it is too late to enter the contest, but after my “unglued” moment yesterday while helping my daughter move into her new college dorm room (it was an ugly moment… not one of my finest, that is for sure), I am anxious to order this book! Will be purchasing it this week!! (I was so upset by her, I didn’t even hug her good-bye :(… )

    BTW… I love your blog Rachel and the encouragement you so graciously give to others. You are the epitome of strength and perseverance! God is using you in a mighty way for His Glory!!

    So much love and prayers to you (always!)!!

    :)

    • rachturner August 13, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

      Tara – Sent you a private message in FB.

Leave a Reply

