Mama Turner’s Sour Cream Pound Cake

6 Aug

I saw the doctor on Friday, and wouldn’t you know it – my neck felt the best it had in weeks while I was in his office.  It’s just like taking a car in for service – the problem all but disappears when the mechanic starts to check it out!  We determined, my neck was feeling better because of the steroid pack he had me taking last week.  I explained all of my symptoms and their locations and we talked about possible causes.  Given that the pain sometimes radiates down my shoulder and into my arm, he’s thinking it could be disc degeneration or arthritis in my spine.  Not at all surprising because my mom has and my grandpa had lots of back issues.  What we decided is that I would finish the steroids and see how long they give me relief.  Once the pain increases again, I’ll call him and he’ll probably order some other imaging tests to take a closer look at the spine itself (the MRI only looked at my brain).  So…for now, we wait and hope that the pain stays away for a while.  Saturday was a pretty icky day painwise, but Sunday was very good – no headache and just mild neck pain.

Last week’s Pound Cake Round Up gave me a hankering (can’t remember if I’ve ever actually used that word before now!) for pound cake this weekend.  One recipe I didn’t include in the round up was a pound cake recipe from Barry’s Grandmother.  Mama Turner is a great Southern cook.  You know the kind – she mostly cooks things from scratch, uses generous amounts of bacon grease, salt, butter, sugar, and throws in plenty of love to hold it all together.

This sour cream pound cake is not a “from scratch” or what I would consider a traditional pound cake recipe because it’s not as dense and heavy as most pounds cakes.  But it’s good.  And easy to make.  Which means it meets both of my requirements for baked goods!  {grin}

To start with, you’ll need the following ingredients:

Cake mix, oil, eggs, sugar, sour cream, and water.  That’s it.

The recipe calls for a Duncan Hines Butter Cake Mix, but I am partial to Betty Crocker.  Betty Crocker just sounds so much more “homey” and good tasting.  Duncan Hines sounds a bit like a grumpy old man, or at least some man who doesn’t know the first thing about baking a pound cake.  I don’t trust him, that Duncan Hines, whoever he is.

Sour Cream Pound Cake

1 All Butter Duncan Hines Yellow Cake Mix
4 Eggs
1/4 Cup Sugar
1/2 Cup Crisco Oil
1/4 Cup Water
8 Ounces Sour Cream (don’t use fat free or low fat)

Preheat oven to 375.  Lightly grease a tube or Bundt pan and set aside.

Mix eggs and cake with a mixer until well blended.  Add sugar, oil, and water and beat until smooth.  Fold in sour cream.

Bake for 45 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.

Note: I’ve also tried this using a Betty Crocker Dark Chocolate cake mix and it was delicious.

And that’s it – simple as that!  Hope you enjoy.
♥ Rachel

Leave a Reply

