A Humdinger, That’s For Sure

3 Aug

This week has certainly been quite a a humdinger and I am happy to see it is coming to a close.  Whew.

On many fronts, it’s been emotionally and spiritually charged.  It feels – at least from my perspective – like everyone (and I mean everyone) has been under attack at one point or another by someone or some group of people who disagree with something they said or did or are doing or thought about doing.  I’ve hardly known what to make of it, but I know it’s left me with an unsettled feeling.  And I can’t help but wonder, in the midst of wrap-around lines of cars & people, photo ops, crowded restaurants, gay protests, and chicken shortages – did even one person come to know Christ because of what’s taken place?

I’ve heard this song on my car radio no less than eight times this week and I think it was a message meant for me:  Jesus, Friend of Sinners by Casting Crowns.  I’ve been convicted by the words and they’ve been echoing in my head for days now.

Jesus, friend of sinners
We have strayed so far away
We cut down people in Your name
But the sword was never ours to swing
Jesus, friend of sinners
The truth’s become so hard to see
The world is on their way to You
But they’re tripping over me

. . .

Nobody knows what we’re for
Only what we’re against
When we judge the wounded
What if we put down our signs
Crossed over the lines
And loved like You did

{If you’d like to listen to the whole song, the video is at the end of this post.}

The last thing I ever want to be is a stumbling block that prevents someone from coming to know the love of Christ.  I’ve spent more than my share of time up on my high horse of self-righteousness.  The world doesn’t need more of people like me.  It needs more people like the woman I want to be.

  • I want to be the woman who accepts that not everyone thinks like I do (thank goodness, right?) and that’s their right.  We are all still precious people, made in the image of God.
  • I want to be the woman who can accept that there are those who will passionately disagree with her and her only response to them will be full of grace and mercy.
  • I want to be the woman who truly believes Christ died for all of us – not just the good ones, not just the ones who say the “right” things – all of us as flawed and sin-filled as we are.
  • I want to be the woman who doesn’t view someone else’s need as an inconvenience, but an opportunity to love them and be the only Jesus they might ever experience.

That’s the woman the world needs more of – not more of who I am now, but who I am trying to become.

Casting Crowns
Jesus, Friend of Sinners

{If you are reading this in email,
you may need to click over to the blog to watch the video.}

Love you guys.
Rachel

9 Responses to “A Humdinger, That’s For Sure”

  1. Becky Robinson August 3, 2012 at 5:49 am #

    Thanks, Jennifer! This is what we all need to think about. Love you, Becky

    • rachturner August 3, 2012 at 10:30 am #

      Becky – It cracks me up that you called me Jennifer!

  2. jlpaddock August 3, 2012 at 6:35 am #

    A to the freaking Men! No more throwing stones. This is a good post…especially what to aspire to. Keep it up. xx Lynnea

    • rachturner August 3, 2012 at 10:31 am #

      Thanks, Lynnea. I hope you are doing well. Know that you are in my prayers.

  3. Nancy Arrighi August 3, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    Amen and Amen!

  4. Becky Robinson August 3, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    Rachel, obviously I was half asleep this morning and had a senile moment. I do know the difference but my girls will tell you I call them by the wrong names, also. We used to laugh at my mother-in-law when she went down the list of names when she was talking to us. It isn’t so funny now that I do it. Please forgive me. Since I also love Jennifer you can know it wasn’t a slur against you. Hope you had a good day. Love, Becky

    • rachturner August 4, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

      No forgiving necessary! I thought it was funny – mom does it all the time. As you know, that’s what happens when you have three girls. :) Love you, Becky. Pray for you and Tom often.

  5. Cyril January 21, 2014 at 5:29 pm #

    Hi there i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anywhere, when i read this
    paragraph i thought i could also make comment
    due to this sensible paragraph.

Leave a Reply

