MRIs Are For the Birds

26 Jul

Let’s just say I did not enjoy that little procedure one bit and I’m hoping that’s the last time I have to experience an MRI.  Ever.  :)

source: thinkstockphotos.com

For such an extremely advanced form of medical technology that costs a pretty penny, there was nothing special, pleasurable, or comfortable about the experience.

But I’m whining.  And this is blog is a no-whining zone.  For today, at least.  ;)

The best part of the experience . . . no waiting.  Seriously.  I couldn’t believe it.  We signed in at pre-registration and before I completed the paperwork, they called us back.  We went down to radiology, handed our papers to the girl at the desk and before I could turn on my Kindle (for you non-Kindle readers (love you, mom!), that means “before I could open my book”), they called me back.

I changed clothes, walked into the MRI room and they got started.  I wasn’t quite mentally prepared for it to happen that quick, but maybe it was a good thing.  I didn’t have time to sit in the waiting room and freak out.  Or embarrass myself.  Or Barry.  :)

I thought I was prepared for the procedure, but once I laid down on the table, they put a cage over my face/head.  For someone who doesn’t like things in or close to my face, that was tough.  I closed my eyes and started praying.

They slid me into the scanner, told me to stay perfectly still and began the process.  There were approximately 6 or 7 scans ranging anywhere from 3 – 5 minutes in length.  While the scan was running, the noise inside the MRI was c.r.a.z.y. loud.  Oh my goodness, loud!  The first one sounded like a jackhammer right next to my head.  I was trying to be still, but I know I jumped.  I even had ear plugs in and it was still loud.  The last scan lasted five minutes and sounded like one hundred thousand million cicadas chirping.  I nearly went insane.

She pulled me out about halfway through to insert the IV and run the contrast dye.  She had a little trouble with the IV and well, sort of dug around trying to get it in the vein.  That didn’t work and I nearly got sick.  She switched to the other arm and thankfully, got the IV in on the first try.  The nausea stayed with me, though.  I thought it would serve her right if I threw up on her.  But I didn’t.  :)

I did, however, spend a lot of time praying.  Praying for my sanity, praying the noise would stop, praying I could lay still, praying I wouldn’t get sick, praying they would not find anything serious, praying they would actually find a brain in there (haha!!), praying the procedure would end.

And then I thought of all the little kids with brain cancer who have to go through that and how scared they must be.  So I started praying for them.  And that helped the most – praying for someone else took my attention off of my own silly little issues of the moment.

source: moretobe.com

My sister-in-law shared a devotional with me yesterday about prayer and I thought some of you might like to read it as well.  You can find it at Internet Cafe Devotions or by clicking on the pray continually image above.  Hope you enjoy it.

I hope to have MRI results today, but you all know how that goes.  I will let you know what we find out.  THANK YOU so much for your prayers.  My neck is still killing me and my head is still pounding, but I know my God is still in control!

Love you all.
♥ Rachel

12 Responses to “MRIs Are For the Birds”

  1. Herdy July 26, 2012 at 6:13 am #

    I feel for you…I had a similar experience at the beginning of my cancer journey with an MRI scan…it’s really unpleasant and, like you, I hope I never have to need one again. I hope your results turn out to be good…I’m thinking of you xx

  2. Becky Robinson July 26, 2012 at 6:36 am #

    Hate you had to go through that. My doctor knows that I am mildly claustrophobic so he gave me Xanax to take before the procedure. It made me so loopy that I didn’t care what they did to me. I actually dozed off. When my results came back, my doctor told me it showed what he expected–“nothing” and he laughed. You knew that though. LOL! Hope today is a really good day.

    • Elisa Pulliam July 26, 2012 at 6:50 am #

      Oh, I’ve had to endure those crazy MRI machines and so I know you’ve described it perfectly. The only way I’ve survived is through prayer, too! I’m glad the post I shared at ICD was something that could encourage you and be worthy of being shared here at your blog! Thanks! To God be the glory. May we pray on together.

      • rachturner July 26, 2012 at 8:42 am #

        Elisa – Your devotional yesterday was just what I needed to get me through. Thank you for sharing your heart and for your encouraging words!

    • rachturner July 26, 2012 at 8:41 am #

      Thanks for making me laugh this morning!

  3. Facing Cancer (@cancer2gether) July 26, 2012 at 8:08 am #

    The MRI can be such a big psychological challenge – no wonder you were feeling unwell, particularly after the needle missed. (I’ve been there, for sure – even passed out before an MRI as the needle kept missing the vein.) But I’m glad to hear the praying helped, particularly when you turned your mind to others. Isn’t it amazing how our thoughts for the wellbeing of others can make us stronger?

    Good luck with the results.

    Catherine
    http://www.facingcancer.ca

    • rachturner July 26, 2012 at 8:43 am #

      Ok, now I don’t feel like such a baby knowing your had a similar experience. :) Thanks for your encouragement, Catharine!

  4. Molly July 26, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    You did it, yay! And it sucked, lol. I’m sorry you had a bit of a hard time. I’ve had several brain MRI’s, some of them lasting an hour and a half. The banging is crazy loud, even with your ear plugs! But you made it through, good job (: You’d think they’d have highly trained and perfect nurses for IV’s in that situation. The last thing you want is to be poked like a pin cushion for a procedure like that. And you’re right, they really should make it a better experience, maybe a glass of wine and a cashmere blanket or something! There is something odd about lying in a tube with barely a centimeter between your face and the top of the machine. I nearly had a panic attack the first time and they gave me a special button to push. However, they said that if I push it they’ll pull me out but I have to go back in. Lovely. Did the contrast make you feel like you had to pee? They warned me of that and I thought I’d had an accident while in there! It was jsut the contrast though (: Still praying for excellent results today Rachel! Hang in there.

    • rachturner July 26, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

      Bless your heart, Molly! A 90 minute MRI??? I can’t even imagine. The contrast they used this time didn’t do that, but the contrast I get when I have the CTs done every four months, does! The first time they gave it to me I literally thought I had wet my pants!! haha!!

  5. Tranquil Moments Photography July 26, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    “And then I thought of all the little kids with brain cancer who have to go through that and how scared they must be. So I started praying for them. And that helped the most – praying for someone else took my attention off of my own silly little issues of the moment.” ~~Rachel you are the sweetest person, thinking of and praying for someone else even when you were in distress. Hats off to you and praying for good results with your MRI. Will be checking in to see if you post any updates. ~Daphne

    • rachturner July 26, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

      Not sweet, Daphne – just trying to find SOMETHING to take my mind off of it. :) Still waiting on news from the doctor…

Leave a Reply

