A Health Update and A Prayer Request

24 Jul

I haven’t updated on my health for a while because everything has been going pretty well.  At least, until the last few weeks.

source: pinterest

For the past three weeks or so, I’ve been dealing with an ongoing sinus infection/headaches/intense neck pain thingy that is causing me some lots of frustration.  I thought the headaches were the result of a stubborn sinus infection (and some of them may have been).

Normally, one round of antibiotics is all it takes to knock out a sinus infection, but not this time.  The doctor (my general practitioner) thought it was reasonable to assume that since my white count hovers in lower-than-it-should range, my body was resistant to the first round.  He opted for something much stronger the second time and it seems to have worked as the pressure in my face is not there anymore.

However.

(There’s always a however, right?)

I’m still having headaches.  Every stinking day.  Some bad, some pretty mild, but I always have a headache.  For 3+ weeks now.  Uugghh….  They seem to be coming from the base of my head and the pain either spreads up into my head and jaw area like a full blown headache or down my shoulder and right arm.

I called the doctor back last week and he prescribed muscle relaxers.  I thought, “Yippee!!  This is going to fix everything AND I’m going to enjoy the process!”

But it didn’t.  Fix everything, that is.  The pain is still there, the muscle relaxers just made me not care that I was in pain.  :)

So I called the doctor back again yesterday and told him no luck with the muscle relaxers.  (I almost felt bad for bothering him so much.  Does anyone else ever feel that way or am I just weird??)

He called me back himself (how nice was that?) and told me that he had called the oncologist and consulted with him about next steps.  I can’t tell you how happy that made me to know that they were working together to determine what we should do next.  I feel ridiculously blessed to have these doctors.

They both agreed that I should go ahead and have a brain MRI.  He reassured me that it is most likely a compressed nerve or something of that nature, but given my recent medical history, they don’t want to overlook something important.  It’s interesting how different things are handled when you are a cancer patient.  They just don’t take chances or waste time and I appreciate that so much.

I truly believe it is nothing serious, but there’s that 1% of your mind that worries.  Guess I need to re-read some of my posts about faith and trust, huh?  :)

The MRI is scheduled for tomorrow (Wednesday) at 1:00 pm and I would greatly appreciate any prayers you wouldn’t mind saying for me.

Love you guys.
♥ Rachel

24 Responses to “A Health Update and A Prayer Request”

  1. Becky Robinson July 24, 2012 at 6:05 am #

    Praying that the doctor’s can find the cause and that there will be an easy “fix”. Love you lots and have faith that you will be better soon.

  2. swartouthill July 24, 2012 at 6:07 am #

    We are praying and petitioning with thanksgiving on your behalf (Phil. 4:6)! We love you, and are amazed at how God has already used your testimony to help so many others who need encouragement, whether they are facing heavy trials such as yours or simply hectic day-to-day life. Keep letting Him move! He’s PERFECTING your story as it furthers His kingdom, no matter how our finite, earthly minds perceive it. LOVE YOU!

  3. Tranquil Moments Photography July 24, 2012 at 7:08 am #

    Sending you a bunch of love and praying for you Rachel. Sounds like you have amazing doctors caring for you and that is a good thing :)

  4. Merrile Stroud July 24, 2012 at 7:45 am #

    Rachel you don’t know me but my friend Andrea Crouch turned me on to your blog. I read it daily & use a lot of it for readings in my yoga classes. I cannot tell you how many of my students have been blessed beyond measure as have I!!! Thank you & I am praying!

    • rachturner July 24, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

      Hi Merrile! I know who you are – you’re also John’s wife. :) Thank you so much for commenting and for your incredibly kind words! I am touched and humbled and so honored that you would share anything I’ve written. Thank you for praying for me!

  5. Jennifer July 24, 2012 at 8:36 am #

    I love you little sister so very much!!!!!!!

  6. mainelyhopeful July 24, 2012 at 9:08 am #

    Sending prayers your way.

  7. Susan July 24, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    Praying for you Rachel.

  8. Laura Allen July 24, 2012 at 10:12 am #

    Rachel, I will continue to pray for you, You are a strong person that shares your faith to lighten up our world. I too feel antsy whenever i have to have a test or see a doctor; It is not FEAR but having to walk through the unknown but I am sure that you won’t be alone as you go through this and will have a great testimony to share with us very soon.
    ALWAYS HOPE, Laura

    • rachturner July 24, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

      Appreciate your prayers and continued encouragement, Laura!

  9. Cara Olsen July 24, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

    Oh, Rachel, I am so sorry you’ve been dealing with discomfort. I understand this to a certain degree, but nothing like you have had to experience. I am setting my alarm now, and will be lifting you up to our Lord tomorrow.

    Much love to you,
    ~ Cara

    • rachturner July 24, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

      You are so sweet, Cara!! Thank you!

  10. Molly July 24, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    Oh Rachael, I’m so sorry to hear about these stupid headaches. Honestly, they sound like either tension or cluster headaches and are usually nothing at all to worry about. But I think it’s smart to be cautious and sure. I’m will be praying my heart out for you tomorrow (: I’m just so sorry that you have to go through more testing. It stinks. But I’ve had several brain MRI’s and angiograms, they’re a piece of cake! Just rest and pray while you’re in there, that’s what I do and it works (: Hurry up and get better so I can read more recipes here and be encouraged by your sweet words!

    • rachturner July 24, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

      Molly – Thank you SO much for your sweet words. You are such a blessing to me!

  11. Kathy July 24, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    Maybe it really would help to read some of your previous postings as though someone else had written them and you were reading them for the first time. They contain so many positive thoughts to surround yourself with.
    I’ll be praying steady for you and Barry as you face this. If you need me to come up there tomorrow just say the word and I’ll cut that bohemuth (sp) of an oven off and leave my apron whippin’ around in the wind on my way out the door as customers wonder what the blur was that just blew past them! A bit dramatic but you get the picture, huh. I love you sooo much.

  12. createdtobebeautiful July 24, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

    Praying for you!!! May God’s supernatural peace surround you!! :)

    • rachturner July 25, 2012 at 8:13 am #

      Thanks, Tara! Feeling His peace this morning. :)

Leave a Reply

