Snickerdoodle Blondies [Recipe]

23 Jul

Let’s get our week started off with an easy, delicious recipe.  Have a meeting to attend this week?  Take these along.  Hosting a Bible study at your house?  Bake these beforehand so the delicious cinnamon smell fills the house and your guests may never leave.  On second thought, you might not want to do that unless you want your guests to stay forever.  :)

Please forgive my pitiful attempts at food photography.  Can you tell that I’m standing directly in front of my light source, hence the shadow on the blondie – brilliant.  It’s an art, and not one that I’ve come close to mastering, but you’ll never learn if you don’t try, right?

This recipe for Snickerdoodle Blondies came from Julia at Dozen Flours.  They are soft, chewy, and very tasty – especially when served warm.  I didn’t try this, but I bet they would be good served warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream or frozen yogurt on top.  The only negative about them is that after about a day, they tend to dry out a bit.  You can avoid dealing with this by sharing them with your neighbors (unless you’re greedy and then you need to eat them all yourself within the first day!).

Snickerdoodle Blondies

2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon Kosher salt
2 cups packed brown sugar
1 cup butter, at room temperature
2 eggs, at room temperature
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons white sugar
2 teaspoons cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350F. Lightly grease a 9 x 13 inch pan.

Sift together flour, baking powder and salt and set aside. In large bowl, beat together butter, sugar, egg and vanilla until smooth.

Stir in the flour mixture until well blended. Spread evenly in prepared pan (mixture will be somewhat cookiebatter-ish.) Combine white sugar and cinnamon in a little bowl. Evenly sprinkle cinnamon sugar mixture over the top of the batter.

Bake 25-30 minutes or until surface springs back when gently pressed. Cool slightly. While still warm, cut into bars with a sharp knife.

Enjoy your week and remember to be grateful for this day.  It’s a gift.
♥ Rachel

4 Responses to “Snickerdoodle Blondies [Recipe]”

  1. Laura Allen July 23, 2012 at 8:36 am #

    Rachel, Your photography is good enough that I have to try this for my grandchildren, particulary one in mind that doesn’t like anything chocolate besides milk; we have thought at times he might have been switched at birth because the rest of the family are extreme chocaholics but I think this little four year old will love these snickerdoodle blondies, it shall be snickerdoodles for my little Beau. I will let you know how he enjoyed them.
    ALWAYS HOPE, Laura

    • rachturner July 23, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

      I can’t imagine him not liking chocolate, but my nephew is not a huge fan, either. Hope he enjoys the blondies – let me know!

  2. Laura Allen July 23, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

    Rachel, I made the blondies and took half of the pan to my daughter’s house, everyone liked the snickerdoodles; my daughter, son inlaw, oldest grandson and my little Beau wants me to make him a lot more and my husband is raving how good this is, a great success. Thank-you. ALWAYS HOPE, Laura

  3. chhtiocrostina1981 October 27, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    Reblogged this on Lucia Jager Pad.

Leave a Reply

