Be Still

18 Jul

There are times when I don’t know what to say.  I can’t find the words to pray because my heart is such a jumbled mess of thoughts, worries, and hopes.  It’s hard to make sense of it all.  But maybe I don’t need to.  Make sense of it all, that is.

source: pinterest

Making sense of the chaos is not my job.  Trying to understand why things happen the way do is a misuse of my time and energy.  I know I need to “be still” and allow God to work in my life, but I find it quite challenging to be still.

Anyone else have a hard time being still?  No need to raise your hands.  I know you do.  :)

During the times when my mind is racing with thoughts and refuses to be quiet, it helps to read scripture.  It reminds me of some key principles that can help me process the mess in my heart.

I am reminded to be still.

Be still, and know that I am God – Psalm 46:10

I am reminded to give my burdens to God.

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light. – Matthew 11:28-30

I am reminded that God hears my prayers.

I love the LORD because he hears my voice and my prayer for mercy. – Psalm 116:1

I am reminded to trust God.

Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and will not be afraid; for the LORD GOD is my strength and my song, and he has become my salvation. – Isaiah 12:2

I am reminded my strength comes from God

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. – Isaiah 41:10

I am reminded that God is always good.

For the Lord God is a sun and shield; the Lord bestows favor and honor; no good thing does he withhold from those whose walk is blameless. – Psalm 84:11

May your heart be still and find peace today.
♥ Rachel

One Response to “Be Still”

  1. Becky July 18, 2012 at 6:33 am #

    Thanks! I really needed this today. I know He takes care of us all. For an impatient person, waiting is difficult. Reading these verses gives me peace. Love you.

Leave a Reply

