A Tasty Blueberry Roundup

12 Jul

July is National Blueberry Month.  Who knew?  Well, if you didn’t know it before, you do now – so no excuses for not throwing a big, gigantic blueberry celebration!  ha ha!!

Sounds like a great reason to bake up some delicious blueberry treats, though, don’t ya think?

Let’s start with a great option for breakfast that is somewhat on the healthy side.  With blueberries, bananas, and walnuts, Baked Blueberry Oatmeal from So, how’s it taste? would be a delicious and filling way to start your day.  Look at those big, fat blueberries – makes me want some now!

Next up is a Lemon Blueberry Yogurt Loaf from Sweet Pea’s Kitchen.  The recipe calls for whole-milk yogurt, but I wonder if it would work with a low-fat version?  I’m thinking it would.

I love buttermilk in baked goods.  This Buttermilk Blueberry Breakfast Cake from Alexandra’s Kitchen looks heavenly.

For a healthy version of scones, try these Blueberry Lemon Scones from Skinny Ms.  They use whole wheat flour, coconut oil, buttermilk, and sucanat.  Had to look that one up.  :)  Sucanat (for those kitchen-challenged people like me) is unprocessed whole cane sugar, unlike the refined white and brown sugars we use in most of our baking.  I’m not normally a fan of scones because they always seem dry to me, but these look like they would be moist and delicious.

Got family coming in for a weekend visit?  This Overnight Blueberry French Toast from Prevention RD might be a great option to prepare the night before and then toss in the oven the next morning.  Your guests will be happy and you won’t be slaving in the kitchen all morning.  The combination of french bread, cream cheese, and blueberries makes it almost irresistible.  Although, the author of this recipe does “healthify” it a bit by using whole wheat bread, reduced-fat cream cheese, and fat-free milk to make it not quite so bad for you.

Hungry yet?  :)  I’ve got a few more for you, so wipe your mouth and read on.

How about some Blueberry Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting from My Baking Addiction?  There’s that cream cheese again.  You know whenever it’s around, the end result is going to be good!  I love how the cupcakes are topped off with a fresh little blueberry.

Next up is something intriguing.  This Blueberry Angel Food Cake from The Frugal Girls only uses two ingredients: blueberry pie filling and angel food cake mix.  That’s it.  Nothing else.  No water, no egg whites, no nothing.  I’m on the fence about this one.  I think it’s something I’ll have to try for curiosities sake, but I’m not sure how great it will be.

And lastly, how about this Blueberry Lemon Trifle from Taste of Home?  I love trifles – you just throw the ingredients in there and it comes out tasting just wonderful.  You know this one will taste fabulous with fresh blueberries, angel food cake, and lemon yogurt.  The recipes uses an already prepared angel food cake, but if you have time, I would make one.  I think the ones made at home taste much better than the store bought ones.

And that’s it for this blueberry round up.  With all of the fresh blueberries bursting out of buckets at farmer’s markets and fruit stands in every corner of the South, you should have no trouble finding this main ingredient in abundance.

Do you have a favorite blueberry dish?  Do share!  I’d love to add another one to the list.

Have an awesome day!
♥ Rachel

2 Responses to “A Tasty Blueberry Roundup”

  1. Jennifer Cooper July 12, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    I hate to admit this but I’m not a big fan of blueberries. I know…shocker! But the French toast recipe intrigued me. I’m hosting some family in a few weeks and need some crowd pleasing but time friendly recipes. I don’t want to be slaving in the kitchen morning of. So any other food inspired blogs in your future? Maybe focused on crowd pleasing breakfast/brunch recipes???

  2. rachturner July 12, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    Hmmmm….I might post something next week to help you out! :)

Leave a Reply

