What Was I Thinking??

3 Jul

I had an out-of-body experience this weekend, and it was not related to the ridiculously high temps.  At least I don’t think it was.  I guess it could have been.  Maybe that would explain my odd behavior!

I spent most of the weekend in the kitchen.  This is highly unusual for me.  I mean, I like my kitchen and all, but I don’t usually spend hours bonding with it.

I’ve mentioned before that I’m not much of a cook.  I wish I were.  I wish I were someone who could go whip up a fabulous meal in no time flat.  But I require simple recipes with detailed instructions using basic ingredients.

But this weekend.  THIS weekend.  I cooked.  And prepped.  And cooked some more.

Barry and I got the wild idea that we would get some corn and green beans from our local farmer’s market and prepare them for the freezer so that we could have ready to go veggies whenever we want them.  This grew into us getting corn, green beans, okra, and peas which grew into us some meat to prepare and put in the freezer, also.

My ideas were ambitious, but I was excited!  This would be fun and we would have good food that was ready to eat during the week when we are busy.

I had no idea what I was getting myself into.  :)

First up, we bought the following which we cleaned, shucked, snapped, cut, blanched, cooled, and packaged (Thanks to Barry, this part went faster than I expected.):

  • 9 packs of silver queen corn (55 ears)
  • 8 packs of green beans
  • 3 packs of purple-hull peas
  • 2 packs of okra

And I also:

  • Smoked a Boston butt for Monday night’s dinner and separated and packaged the remainder for the freezer.
  • Cooked bone-in chicken breasts in the crock pot (left skins on and added nothing but a little salt & pepper and they came out so tender!).  We made BBQ sandwiches with some and froze the rest for future recipes.
  • Separated, marinated, and packaged 13 chicken breasts for the freezer.
  • Made two pasta dishes and froze individual portions.
  • Made a batch of taco/burrito meat and froze for a future dinner.

And I made this banana pudding because I didn’t think I had enough to do this weekend.  ha ha!!

Who is this woman and how did she get in my body???

I’d love to know if you cook in big batches and freeze things or if you cook as you go.  It takes a lot of time, but with some good planning, I could see some great benefits to cooking in batches and preparing food ahead of time.

Do you have any recipes that you like to make ahead and freeze for later?  Please share – I’d love to add some to my arsenal so I will have some new ones for the next time I lose my mind.  :)

Happy Tuesday, Friends!
♥ Rachel

2 Responses to “What Was I Thinking??”

  1. Tranquil Moments Photography July 3, 2012 at 7:05 am #

    I may have been ALOT of work but you will reap the benefits when you come home from work and presto, instant meals :) Have a terrific Tuesday :)

  2. mainelyhopeful July 3, 2012 at 7:55 am #

    Wow.. ambitious! You will enjoy the results though :)

Leave a Reply

