Treatment Update

26 Jun

I had my third maintenance treatment on Friday.  It was a pretty smooth day – no complications or hiccups.  Just the way I like it.

I am always surprised by two things on treatment days: 1) How quickly Ativan starts to work and 2) How crazy relaxed it makes me feel.  :)  It’s like I have no cares in the world.  They could tell me they were going to stick 50 needles in my arm and I would likely tell them to go ahead.  ha ha!!

Dr. Daniel reviewed the CT results with us and was pleased to see no change in the left kidney from the scan I had in February.  There is a 2-3 mm “thickening” on the surface of my left kidney which measured the same as it did four months ago.  Best case scenario would be for there to be no thickening whatsoever, but I’m happy with no increase in size.  :)

The labs they drew Wednesday before the CT were a little off, but not enough to cause alarm.  My white count was 2.3 and granulocytes were 1.5, which is pretty low but not dangerously low.  When they were 2.0 and 1.0, respectively during my primary treatment, he gave me that icky Neulasta shot.  This time, he decided to re-do the labs on Friday and my white was back up to 3.0 which is acceptable.  It’s supposed to fall between 4.5 and 10.5 so it’s still low but not enough to require any form of intervention.  He believes the low counts are the result of the Bendamustine that I received from August – January because it’s hard on the marrow and said we would keep an eye on it.

I’m also having some kidney issues that aren’t necessarily bothersome, but important enough that I had to mention them to Dr. Daniel.  I honestly didn’t want to mention the symptoms to him, but Barry told me I had to.  :)  I just knew he was going to send me to Dr. Young which would be like sending me to the principal’s office — but he didn’t.  Yay!!  He ordered some more tests and put me on five days of Cipro for a kidney infection.  I can’t say I’m enjoying the Cipro because it makes my stomach upset, but I’ve seen some improvement in the symptoms already so that’s a good thing.

And that’s about it on the cancer front for now.  I’m doing well and enjoying life.  Can’t ask for more than that!
♥ Rachel

10 Responses to “Treatment Update”

  1. Herdy June 26, 2012 at 7:01 am #

    So pleased everything is going well..I love reading your blog, your positive energy often pulls me out of a negative funk! Thank you!

    • rachturner June 27, 2012 at 8:10 am #

      Thanks, Herdy!! I hope you are doing well and making good progress.

  2. Tranquil Moments Photography June 26, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    I am not up on the blood count lingo but glad to hear there was no increase in thickening :) That’s good news :)

  3. Susan June 26, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    Hope things continue to look good for you. I am with you on Neulasta, not my favorite thing for sure. God Bless.

  4. Cara Olsen June 26, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

    You continue to inspire me, Rachel. I am always just a little bit happier when I see you’ve had a good treatment day.

    Joy to you,

    ~ Cara

    • rachturner June 27, 2012 at 8:12 am #

      Thanks, Cara! You are so sweet. :)

  5. The Savvy Sister June 26, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    Good news!

  6. Claudia Schmidt June 28, 2012 at 9:56 am #

    Hi Rachel – Glad to hear things are good (relatively) on the treatment front. I hated Neulasta too….keep up the good work, thinking of you.

Leave a Reply

