Overcoming Fear

18 Jun

We went for a bike ride yesterday.

source: thinkstockphotos.com

You wouldn’t think that’s a big deal, but it was my first ride since before treatment began last year.  I think the last time we rode was 10 months ago and we had worked our way up to 11 or 12 mile rides at that time.

I’ve been putting off getting back on the bike, worrying that I wouldn’t have the strength to get through the course.  The path we ride is about 7 miles long and about half of it is on some type of incline – some are steep inclines; some gradual.  Once you get started, you pretty much have to do the whole thing before you can get back to the car so I was nervous I wouldn’t be able to do it.

Barry has asked several times this Spring if I wanted to ride, but my mind had been telling me I couldn’t do it.  I haven’t regained all of my strength, my muscles are weak, and I didn’t think I would have the stamina to push through – so I would say no.

But my mind was wrong!  I pushed through it, I survived the ride, and I learned something else:

It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.

I couldn’t believe it.

I had let my fear hold me back.

Once I made up my mind to tackle the ride in spite of my fear, I was amazed to see that I actually managed the 7 miles better than I thought I would.  Sure, it was hard.  And sure, there were times when I didn’t want Barry to speak to me.  :)  But I did it!

How many times have you thought the same thing about a situation you were facing?

Our fears can become overwhelming when we allow them to take root in our minds.  What I learned from this one little ride is that the best antidote to fear is action.  Until I actually attempted the thing I was afraid of, my fear remained larger than my ability to overcome it.

What’s holding you back today?  Is there something you are haven’t attempted or are reluctant to try because you are afraid?  I challenge you to take one step toward overcoming that fear today.

Maybe today is the day you decide your fear is NOT greater than your strength. Maybe today is the day you decide that YOU are courageous and can accomplish great things if you will step out in faith and make an attempt.  Maybe today is the day you try.

It might not be as bad as you think it’s going to be.

March on with courage, my soul! – Judges 5:21b

Have a beautiful day and a great start to your week!
♥ Rachel

One Response to “Overcoming Fear”

  1. All Seasons Cyclist June 18, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

    I see a future Tour de France champion smiling in that photo!

Leave a Reply

