What’s So Great About a Kindle?

15 Jun

Well.  Pretty much everything, in my opinion.  :)

I’ve been using a Kindle for almost two years and haven’t found anything I don’t like about it yet.  I’ve not used the Nook or even the iPad for reading, so I can’t tell you why the Kindle is better than those (or if it’s better than those).  I can only tell you that, as far as reading goes, I love my Kindle Touch.

Here’s why:

Instant access to any book.  I don’t have the 3G version, but as long as I am somewhere with wi-fi access, I can buy and download a new book in a matter of minutes.  No more driving to the store or ordering it online and waiting two or three days for it to be delivered.  My impatient self doesn’t have to wait.

Sample chapters help me select books.  I don’t have to buy a book to see if I’ll like it.  Each Kindle book has a sample chapter that you can read for free before buying the book.  Love this feature!

My whole library at my fingertips.  I don’t know why I like this, but I think it is so cool to have all my books in one little device.  My particular Kindle can hold up to 3,000 books.  If I don’t like a book I’m reading, I just stop and open another one – no matter where I am, home or away because they are all there with me.  And for the ultimate in laziness – I don’t even have to get up and walk to the bookshelf or reach over on the nightstand to get a new book.  I just touch the screen!

It’s portability means I am never bored.  The Kindle Touch is tiny at 6.8″ x 4.7″ x 0.40″ and weighs a light 7.5 ounces which makes it perfect for tossing in my purse or bag.  If I’m waiting at the doctor’s office, having a solo lunch break at work, or have a few extra minutes anywhere, I can read.

Syncing means that I can read my books from any device.  Thanks to Kindle apps, I can continue reading on any device – phone, iPad, laptop, or home computer – and it will automatically sync to the last page I read.

Passages can be highlighted and pages bookmarked for future reference.  I can also add notes to highlighted passages and pull them up on my private Kindle site if I want to reference something I read.

The battery lasts forever.  Well, not quite forever, but almost.  Well, not really almost, but a very long time.  :)  If I read 30 minutes a day, every day, a charge would last two months.  (That’s what Amazon says – I haven’t tested that feature, but I know I don’t have to charge it very often.)

The screen is not back lit. Reading on the Kindle is just like reading a print book – no glare, no squinting, and no eye strain from a back lit screen.

Do you use a Kindle or other e-reader?  Which one do you use?  What do you love most about it?

Happy Friday, Friends!  Have a fantastic weekend!!
♥ Rachel

8 Responses to “What’s So Great About a Kindle?”

  1. Tranquil Moments Photography June 15, 2012 at 7:44 am #

    I haven’t invested in one of these Rachel. Call me old fashioned but I love settling into the covers of a hard cover book and I just love book covers :) Kindle is not on my list of purchases but if you love it and it’s for you that’s wonderful :) Have a super weekend :)

    • rachturner June 15, 2012 at 8:13 am #

      I know a lot of “hold outs” who just love the paper books. I wonder, though, if at some point paper books will go away as more and more people adopt e-readers? I really didn’t think I would like the Kindle – it surprised me. I think the convenience is the best part for me.

      • Tranquil Moments Photography June 15, 2012 at 8:41 am #

        I prob might like it too if I gave it a chance. You are probably right with the electronic age we live in .

  2. Susan June 15, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    I have the Canadian equivalent to your Kindle, a Kobo! Love it! My daughter and son in law bought it for me when I was first diagnosed with cancer as they figured it would be easier for me to tote around on all my various appointments. It has proved invaluable and I also like you, love that I can get any library book on it too. My best friend Lynda is a holdout for real books but for myself I love the convenience and still read voraciously!

    • rachturner June 15, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

      I love that name – Kobo! It’s sounds cute. I think e-readers are PERFECT for us cancer patients. Glad you enjoy yours, Susan.

  3. Cancer Warrior June 15, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    I am an old fashioned gal….just love the feel of a book in my hands, and turning the page…

    • rachturner June 15, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

      You are not alone, Florence! I have a lot of friends and family who don’t want to give up the feel of a traditional book in their hands. :)

  4. Cancer Warrior June 15, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

    ….but you do make some great points for the Kindle!

Leave a Reply

