Peach Cobbler and Other Delicious Things

11 Jun

Hey friends.

source: thinkstockphotos.com

It’s Monday and I’m hungry.

I’m hungry because I’ve been thinking about recipes.

I’ve been thinking about recipes because we are going to a family reunion this weekend and I haven’t decided what to make & take.

Because I haven’t decided what to make & take, I need your help.

Help.  Please.  :)

Do you have any good great recipes for family gatherings/picnics/reunions?  I prefer baking to cooking “real” food unless it’s an easy salad or something like that.  I also prefer s.i.m.p.l.e. to complicated.  A simple recipe that WOWs would be perfect!  Demanding much??  :)  I tend to accidentally  skip over important instructions in complicated recipes and end up with an item that doesn’t resemble at all the picture in the cookbook.

Here are a few that I am considering:

Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake

Mom’s Peach Cobbler (see the recipe at the bottom of this post)

Pound Cake – who doesn’t love pound cake???

Or maybe these Fudge-Filled Bars.

What about a fruit salad?

I’m also considering the lemon cheesecake bars that I made a couple of weeks ago.  They are supposed to be kept refrigerated, so I’d have to take them in a cooler, but I could still make it work.

I could take a pie – apple, chess, oohhh, maybe a chocolate chess pie….  That would be good.

What do you think?

Here’s the recipe for my mom’s peach cobbler that I mentioned above.  It has lots of buttery crust.  This is my mom’s recipe and my favorite peach cobbler ever.  I learned a valuable lesson after making this cobbler one time…and it had nothing to do with the recipe.  I don’t remember how old I was, but I must have been a teenager or in my early twenties.  I made this cobbler – might have even been my first time making it – and sat it on a stove burner to cool.  I started to make something for dinner and turned on a burner – the wrong burner – by mistake.  Not long after that, I heard a cracking sound and watched as the casserole dish shattered and peach cobbler oozed everywhere.  I mean e.v.e.r.y.w.h.e.r.e.  :)

Easy Peach Cobbler

1 stick margarine
1 cup sugar
1 cup flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 cup milk
1 (29 ounce) can sliced peaches and juice (also very good with fresh or thawed frozen peaches)

Melt margarine in a 9 x 13-inch baking dish.  Sift flour, sugar and baking powder into a bowl.  Add milk and mix well.  Pour onto melted butter in baking dish.  DO NOT STIR.  Pour the undrained peaches over the top.  DO NOT STIR.

Bake at 350° for 40 minutes or until golden brown.

I would love some new ideas for what to take to the reunion!  What would you take if you were going?  Do you have a classic go-to recipe for things like this?  If not, what would you want to eat if you were going?

5 Responses to “Peach Cobbler and Other Delicious Things”

  1. Tranquil Moments Photography June 11, 2012 at 8:47 am #

    Think I’m gonna try that recipe. I am looking for a recipe for Strawberry Apple Crisp for tonight. Going online to google. Have a super day.

    • rachturner June 11, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

      Strawberry Apple Crisp sounds delicious! Hope you found a good recipe.

  2. Susan June 11, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    Hi Rachel. My family has a favorite I make for occasions when we all get together. I got it from the Kraft Canada website and it is called Banana Split Cake.
    For some reason it won’t let me paste the r3ecipe so I will send the link.
    http://www.kraftcanada.com/en/recipes/banana-split-cake-94117.aspx
    1-1/2 cups Honey Maid Graham Crumbs
    1/3 cup non-hydrogenated margarine, melted
    2 pkg. (250 g each) Philadelphia Brick Cream Cheese, softened
    1 cup sugar
    1 can (14 fl oz/398 mL) crushed pineapple in juice, drained
    6 bananas, divided
    2 pkg. (4-serving size each) Jell-O Vanilla Instant Pudding
    2 cups cold milk
    2 cups thawed Cool Whip Whipped Topping, divided
    1 cup chopped pecans
    Make It

    MIX graham crumbs and margarine; press onto bottom of 13×9-inch pan. Freeze 10 min.

    BEAT cream cheese and sugar with mixer until well blended. Spread carefully over crust; top with pineapple. Slice 4 bananas; arrange over pineapple.

    BEAT pudding mixes and milk in medium bowl with whisk 2 min. Stir in 1 cup Cool Whip; spread over banana layer in pan. Top with remaining Cool Whip. Refrigerate 5 hours.

    SLICE remaining bananas just before serving; arrange over dessert. Sprinkle with nuts.
    kraft kitchens tips
    Healthy Living
    Good news!! You’ll save 50 calories and 3 grams of total fat per serving by preparing as directed using Philadelphia Light Cream Cheese, skim milk, Jell-O Vanilla Fat Free Instant Pudding and Cool Whip Light Whipped Topping.
    Size-Wise
    This banana split-inspired dessert makes a great treat to share with both friends and family.
    Substitute
    Substitute 24 Honey Maid Graham Wafers, finely crushed, for the 1-1/2 cups Honey Maid Graham Crumbs.

    1-1/2 cups Honey Maid Graham Crumbs
    1/3 cup non-hydrogenated margarine, melted
    2 pkg. (250 g each) Philadelphia Brick Cream Cheese, softened
    1 cup sugar
    1 can (14 fl oz/398 mL) crushed pineapple in juice, drained
    6 bananas, divided
    2 pkg. (4-serving size each) Jell-O Vanilla Instant Pudding
    2 cups cold milk
    2 cups thawed Cool Whip Whipped Topping, divided
    1 cup chopped pecans
    Make It

    MIX graham crumbs and margarine; press onto bottom of 13×9-inch pan. Freeze 10 min.

    BEAT cream cheese and sugar with mixer until well blended. Spread carefully over crust; top with pineapple. Slice 4 bananas; arrange over pineapple.

    BEAT pudding mixes and milk in medium bowl with whisk 2 min. Stir in 1 cup Cool Whip; spread over banana layer in pan. Top with remaining Cool Whip. Refrigerate 5 hours.

    SLICE remaining bananas just before serving; arrange over dessert. Sprinkle with nuts.
    kraft kitchens tips
    Healthy Living
    Good news!! You’ll save 50 calories and 3 grams of total fat per serving by preparing as directed using Philadelphia Light Cream Cheese, skim milk, Jell-O Vanilla Fat Free Instant Pudding and Cool Whip Light Whipped Topping.
    Size-Wise
    This banana split-inspired dessert makes a great treat to share with both friends and family.
    Substitute
    Substitute 24 Honey Maid Graham Wafers, finely crushed, for the 1-1/2 cups Honey Maid Graham Crumbs.

    • rachturner June 11, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

      This looks really good!! I think my husband would love it. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Susan!

  3. Susan June 11, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    oops sorry it did!!!!! I am such a nut job.

Leave a Reply

