Doughnuts and Little Decisions

8 Jun

I did something this week that I rarely do.

I passed on an opportunity to eat a doughnut.  Twice.  Ya’ll, this is big.  I can’t remember the last time I had to make a decision about a doughnut twice in one week.  Some wicked soul brought fresh doughnuts and placed them in our kitchen at work.  Twice.  But I didn’t cave either time.  I wanted to, but I didn’t!

I know what you’re thinking.

“Seriously, Rachel??  That’s your big accomplishment?  You really need to get out more.”

Here’s the thing.  I. Love. Doughnuts.

Wait, let me restate that.  I. SERIOUSLY. Love. Doughnuts.

Krispy KremeDunkinDaylightJulie DarlingLaMar’s.  Oh, my.  If you’ve never had a LaMar’s Donut, you should stop what you’re doing and drive to Oxford, Alabama to get one.  Right now!  You will likely never taste a better doughnut that what you can get at LaMar’s.

Now I’m hungry.  :)

Ok, back to my point.  I do have a point, believe it or not.

We make a lot of decisions every day.   Some experts suggest that we can make as many as 35,000 decisions in just one little 24 hour day.  That makes me tired just thinking about it!

35,000 doesn’t really seem realistic to me, but I can see how we could make thousands of decisions in one day.  We are constantly making them.

Hit snooze or get up?

Skip breakfast or eat breakfast?

Work late or leave on time?

Chicken or steak?

Water or Diet Dr. Pepper?

Exercise or TV?

If you’re like me and have six different shampoos and conditioners in the shower, you even have to make decisions about that!

In fact, you made the decision to read this blog right now.

Our days are full of decisions which means our days are full of opportunities to make a good choices.

Many times, we make decisions without even realizing we are making them.  And when we choose not to make a decision, we are actually making a decision, just in a very passive way.

My little victory over the doughnuts was actually a big victory because it represented two good choices.  Of course, two good choices are not the same as a week, month, or lifetime of good choices, but it’s a start.  And you can’t finish what you don’t start, right?

What’s one little decision you could make today that would get you one step closer to achieving a goal or overcoming an obstacle? 

Maybe it’s choosing grace instead of anger when someone makes you mad.

Maybe it’s taking the stairs instead of the escalator.

Maybe it’s deciding not to log on to Facebook and spend some extra time with your husband or wife, instead.

Give it some thought.

BTW, What’s your favorite doughnut?  Mine’s glazed.  And I like cake doughnuts.  Oh, and I really like chocolate-covered-creme-filled ones, too….  :)

Have a blessed Friday!
♥ Rachel

10 Responses to “Doughnuts and Little Decisions”

  1. Jennifer June 8, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    Krispy Kreme Boston cream filled hot out of the oven when the light is still flashing in the window! Second favorite are the one’s dad’s cousin, jimmy Wallace, used to make in the shack beside aunt France’s house in Kentucky. I loved his plain glazed hot with a cold glass of milk. Wow – now you have made me hungry too.

  2. The Savvy Sister June 8, 2012 at 8:46 am #

    YAY for you! I like to look at good choices as a reflection of how much I love myself (not talking narcisistic here). “I respect my body too much to put that junk in it”.
    It also helps to have something handy to replace what you think you want. Like for sweets it might be dried fruit…pineapple, raisins etc kept handy. (OK Rachel, you can stop laughing now)
    And the good news is every time you resist a sweet it gets easier. It takes the taste buds and brain about 6 weeks of curbing cravings to shut them down. This goes for excess salt and dairy as well.
    Thanks for sharing your success. Consider this your virtual pat on the back!

    • rachturner June 11, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

      I thought you would be proud of me for passing on the doughnuts! :)

  3. Jennifer Cooper June 9, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

    Krispy Kreme glazed when still warm (hot donuts now) is definitely my all time favorite! Yum!!!!

    • rachturner June 11, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

      I hear ya JC. It’s tough to beat a warm Krispy Kreme.

  4. Jim Patton June 9, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

    Went to Oxford Alabama this morning for LaMars donuts and are you certainly right about not finding a bettert donut. Will be going back again, one of my weaknesses!
    They beat all other donuts including hot Krispy Kremes.

    • rachturner June 11, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

      Hi Jim – Diana told me that you guys went to LaMar’s. That’s great!! I’m so glad you enjoyed them – I love warm Krispy Kremes, too, but after I had my first LaMar’s, I was hooked! :)

  5. Carina June 10, 2012 at 4:31 am #

    Krispy creme glazed that I get to eat only when I am in Las Vegas. It is in my advantage I don’t have Krispy creme nearby or I would be having them often. It is hard to ignore especially when offered for free and ready to grab. I am working on my anger and doing random act of kindness. It feels good to do the second…The anger is hard to suppress sometimes. Thanks for the reminder.

    • rachturner June 11, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

      Those Krispy Kreme glazed are the best. :)

  6. J June 10, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    Congrats on your will power. Doughnuts are my downfall too. I love them. A lot. We used to have a Lamar’s doughnuts here in Las Vegas, but we don’t anymore. You are right, Lamar;s are the best.

    I stumbled onto your blog through the links on Jim Goins website.

    I like your profile. My favorite place in the world so far is Tennessee. I love Nashville and the surrounding areas and If I knew my husband could adapt to the humidity, we’d move there in a heartbeat.

    I’m going to read about your cancer right now. My sister recently won the battle with colon cancer and uterine cancer. I wish you all the luck with your treatment and I’ll send you prayers.

Leave a Reply

