You Are Beautiful Just the Way You Are

7 Jun

Do you compare yourselves to others?  Boy, I do.  I know I shouldn’t, but I have yet to master the art of not comparing myself to others.  Especially when it comes to physical traits.

source: pinterest

I’m a big girl.  At 5’9″, I’m taller than the average woman and this has always bothered me.  Not bothered me in the sense that it keeps me awake at night (because nothing does that!), but bothered still.  It was awkward to be tall growing up and, even though it’s not a huge deal at my current…ahem…more mature age, it still feels awkward at times.

What it comes down to is the fact that I’m jealous of women who are shorter than me.  There.  I said it.

They’re cuter, clothes fit them better, and they can wear heals and look great in them.  I wear heals and suddenly become six feet tall.  Waaahhh….can you hear me whining???  :)

“Comparison is the death of true self-contentment.” – John Powell

Ahh, comparison.  The little devil.

While I don’t sit and dwell on the fact that I’m tall, it does creep into my thoughts.  And usually, right after it does, a voice inside my head says, “Rachel, be glad that you have two legs and can walk. It doesn’t matter how tall you are.”  Ouch, right?

God made each of us unique AND wonderful.  God doesn’t make trash.  He doesn’t make ugly, stupid, or worthless people.  He makes us different AND beautiful with our own gifts and talents.

I bet most of you have some physical trait that bothers you – something that you wish were different.  Be honest.  Maybe your issue isn’t height.  Maybe it’s weight, or your nose, or the waddle under your chin (I think I see one developing under mine and it scares me!).  But I know you probably have an issue – some little sticking point that prevents you from being perfectly comfortable with the way you look.

So why do we think these thoughts?  I asked myself this question and thought about it for a few days.  I looked up some scripture to see if I could get to the root of why we aren’t happy with ourselves and the answer I kept coming back to stung a bit.

We aren’t satisfied with ourselves because we don’t believe what God says about us.

Think about it.  If we truly, way down in the deepest parts of our souls, believed what God said about us, we wouldn’t be comparing ourselves to others.

We would believe that we are fearfully and wonderfully made. – Psalm 139:14

We would believe that we are chosen by God. – Ephesians 1:4

We would believe that we are valuable. – Matthew 10:29-31

And that would be enough.

For me, being tall is actually a blessing in disguise and I should be grateful.  You see, my Grandma Johnnye passed on her love of sweets to me.  Yes, I do try to make healthy food choices, but not all of the time.  I love me some sugar!  :)  The blessing of being tall is that it helps me distribute my weight a little better.  If I were shorter, a couple of extra pounds would be much more noticeable.

Would you like to join me today in believing that we are beautiful just as we are?  It’s true.  Trust me on this.  :)

Have a beautiful day!
♥ Rachel

5 Responses to “You Are Beautiful Just the Way You Are”

  1. SarahKL June 7, 2012 at 8:01 am #

    I always HATED being so thin! Everyone would say things like “You’re so skinny – I hate you!” and “Are you anorexic?” and not think twice about it. It’s not okay to openly be mean to a fat person, but it’s totally okay to be openly mean to a skinny person, or so they would think. I had a LOT of body image issues for a while, but God has helped me embrace who He made me and accept myself no matter what! :) (And P.S. I’ve always really liked being tall! I feel strange when I’m the shortest one in a group!)

    • rachturner June 7, 2012 at 8:10 am #

      I think we all have that “one thing” that we don’t like about ourselves. I can see how those comments would hurt, especially if you don’t like being thin. I think you are slim and graceful and just beautiful the way you are!!

  2. Laura Allen June 7, 2012 at 9:31 am #

    Just that one verse that we are fearfully wonderfully made means GOD took time and great thought to make us; yep we are all different but life has GOD’S GRACE and GOODNESS displayed in each one of us, afrer all we are made in HIS image and especially as you get older (not old) sure you take care of this vessel but strive for the greater glory. I too could stand to lose some weight around the waist/think it will all come off when this disease completely vacates.

  3. Susan June 7, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    I was tall now I am short due to osteoporosis. Tall is Better Rachel trust me!

  4. James lantern January 18, 2014 at 9:41 pm #

    Thanks rachel.im 6.25ft male,im 31.thanks for allowing yourself to a vessel on my behalf.@jameslantern40,twit.

Leave a Reply

