3 Questions to Ask When You are Worried

4 Jun

Based on emails I’ve received and conversations I’ve had recently, many of you are in the middle of a serious worry-fest – and with good reason.  Between worrying about someone you love who is seriously ill, dealing with your own health issues, concerns about a child, or anxiety over your job situation there are a lot of sleepless nights being experienced right now.  And those are just the ones I know about.

source: Pinterest

Even if you haven’t shared with me what’s worrying you, I would bet that almost everyone reading this is facing something that is creating at least a little anxiety and making you feel stressed.  Worrying not only affects us mentally and emotionally, it can wreak havoc on us physically.  All the more reason to tackle it head on before it gets out of control.

We all know that worrying accomplishes nothing but if you’re like me, you find it difficult to beat back the worry monster.  Here are three questions you can ask yourself when worrying threatens to take control of your thoughts:

  1. Have I prayed about this?  Prayer is my number one recommendation for combatting work and anxiety.  Why?  Because it works.  :)  I’ve found no greater way to combat a major case of the worries than to spend some quality time in prayer.  The act of quieting myself and praying to a God who I know hears my prayers has a calming power on me.  As James says, “the prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.” (James 5:16)
    —–
  2. What scripture has God given me regarding this?  Select a few key verses that bring you comfort or calm your nerves and put them to memory.  Write them on index cards and carry them with you.  When your mind begins to drift toward worrying about the situation, say the verses out loud or think them.  If your attention is focused on scripture, it can’t be focused on the problem.  See the list of scripture at the bottom of this post for some of my favorites.
    —–
  3. What is the worst thing that could happen?  This is advice from my dad that has always served me well.  Think about the worst possible outcome.  Once you recognize it and acknowledge it, you have the power to cope with it.  It’s easy to worry about the unknown, but if you think about the worst possible outcome you will be better equipped to cope with it.

We cannot eliminate situations that will create anxiety and stress in our lives, but we can learn how to cope with them so that the worry and anxiety does to consume us.

Here’s the scripture I mentioned above that I have committed to memory:

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous hand. – Isaiah 41:10

Nothing is impossible with God. – Luke 1:37

The LORD is good, a refuge in times of trouble. He cares for those who trust in Him. – Nahum 1:7

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. – Matthew 6:34

Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? – Luke 12:25

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. – John 14:27

Hope your week gets off to a great start!
♥ Rachel

3 Responses to “3 Questions to Ask When You are Worried”

  1. Tranquil Moments Photography June 4, 2012 at 7:53 am #

    Words to live by Rachel. Peace

  2. Laura Allen June 4, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

    I go to Psalm 91:1 -16, I call it the original 911 to use all the time but especially in emergencies. It is comforting and lets you remember you are not alone. ALWAYS HOPE, Laura

Leave a Reply

