What Are You Reading This Summer?

1 Jun

Welcome to June!  Can you believe it’s already here??

Are you a reader?

I’ve gone through phases in my life where I’ve been a heavy reader, an average reader, and a virtually non-existent reader.  Right now, I’m an average reader.  I’m not devouring books every free minute of the day, but I’m constantly on the lookout for a new, good book recommendation.  I can thank my Kindle Touch for rekindling (get it, re-kindling?) my love of reading.  {grin}  I had no idea I would enjoy reading with it as much as I do.  I know there are scores of people who say it’s not the same thing as reading a physical book, but I love being able to 1) carry all of my books with me wherever I go and 2) get a new book any time I want without having to wait for it to be delivered or going to the store to buy it.

I just finished reading what might be my favorite book ever:  Lone Survivor by Marcus Luttrell.  It’s the first-person account of a Navy Seal who was the only one from his team to return home alive from a mission in Afghanistan.  It’s been on my list for a long time and I’ve been afraid to read it.  I finally just dove in and I’m so glad I did.  It was even harder to read than I thought it would be, but this book sucked me in and kept me – literally – riveted from the first chapter to the very last word.

A few others that I’ve enjoyed this year are:

  • Enemies of the Heart by Andy Stanley
    Andy explains how guilt, anger, greed, and jealousy can reek havoc on our lives if left unchecked and offers Biblical direction for overcoming their power.  This was a good book, but it gave me so much to think about that I will likely have to read it again to fully absorb everything.
  • Heaven is for Real by Todd Burpo
    A great, true story of a little boy who had to undergo life-saving surgery and experienced heaven during the process.  He talks about the people he met while there and through little conversations with his dad reveals glimpses of what is to come.
  • What Happens When Women Say Yes to God by Lysa TerKeurst
    Lysa gives some practical and Biblical advice experiencing life and your relationship with God in a fresh way.  This was a very good book, easy to read, yet substantive.
  • One Small Step Can Change Your Life by Robert Maurer
    This is one of the first books I finished this year and I would recommend it to anyone wanting or needing to make a change in their life.  The author uses The Kaizen Way (making small changes consistently over time) as a method for bringing about significant change.  It’s the think big, start small principle.
  • The Final Summit by Andy Andrews
    This was a really good story about the search for the one principle that will save humanity.  Andy Andrews is a great story teller and he introduced all kinds of historical figures in this novel.  After I began reading it, I realized I should have read The Traveler’s Gift because it actually leads up to The Final Summit.
  • My So-Called Life as a Proverbs 31 Wife by Sara Horn
    I’ve just started reading this so I can’t fully recommend it; however, after three chapters, I can tell that this is going to mess with my mind and the way I view my role as a wife – in a good way.  I can relate the author in so many ways so I’m very interested to read about her experience with trying to be a Proverbs 31 wife for a year.

Some of the books that are on my want-to-read list are:

I’m hoping that you will help this girl out and tell me something – what are you reading this summer?  I would love, love, LOVE to know what you are reading, planning to read, and what you’ve really enjoyed reading this year.  Do tell!

  1. What are you reading now?
  2. What’s next on your list?
  3. What’s the best book you’ve read this year?
  4. Do you have any recommendations for me?

Have a beautiful Friday and a fabulicious weekend!!
♥ Rachel

10 Responses to “What Are You Reading This Summer?”

  1. Cancer Warrior June 1, 2012 at 5:40 am #

    I am an avid reader, but pretty much all non-fiction. I love stuff about spirituality, angels and the mind-body connection. Two books which changed my life are “You Can Heal Your Life” by Louise Hay, and “Love, Medicine and Miracles” by Dr. Bernie Siegel. Actually,just before reading this post I was picking out some of my faves to donate to the Chemo room where I got my chemo. They have a very sparse library, so I am going to donate some of my fave inspirational books and some meditation c.d’s.

    • rachturner June 1, 2012 at 8:12 am #

      What a great idea to donate your books!! You mentioned the Louise Hay book in your post earlier this week and I thought it sounded good. Have a great day, Florence!

  2. Tranquil Moments Photography June 2, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    Hmmm, I am in between stages now. Will have to get a summer reading list done. Thanks for the gentle nudge :) The Midwife’s Confession by Diane Chamerlain, Still Alice by Lisa Genova and Night Road by Kristen Hannah are three that I recommend.

    • rachturner June 3, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

      Thanks for the recommendations, Daphne!

  3. Alene Snodgrass (@AleneSnodgrass) June 3, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

    Good evening! I found you through Goins Writer. I’m linking up too and I’m nervous. LOL

    I love the books you mention! I’m reading 7 by Jen Hatmaker and blogging Summer of 7. Michael Hyatt’s book Platform just arrived.

    Enjoy your summer reading!

    http:positivelyalene.com

    • rachturner June 3, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

      Hi Alene! Thanks for stopping by! Yeah, I’m a little nervous about what he’s going to ask us to do, too. :) I’ve heard great thinks about Jen Hatmaker’s book – I need to add it to my list. I bought Platform last week, but haven’t started reading it yet.

  4. Donnie Davis June 3, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    The last two books I’ve really enjoyed are:
    The Circle Maker: Praying Circles Around Your Biggest Dreams and Greatest Fears by Mark Batterson

    The Grace Of God by Andy Stanley

    • rachturner June 3, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

      Hi Donnie – thanks for stopping by and for the book recommendations! Those are two of my favorite authors.

  5. createdtobebeautiful June 28, 2012 at 11:39 pm #

    I have not read this book personally, but I keep hearing about how fabulous it is (It is my next book to read!!): “Same Kind of Different as Me”

    http://www.samekindofdifferentasme.com/default.aspx

    Much love to you!! Hope you are enjoying your summer! ;)

    • rachturner June 29, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

      I started reading Same Kind of Different as Me, but got distracted and haven’t finished it. Numerous people have recommended it, though, so it should be good.

Leave a Reply

