I Think I Need a Vacation

29 May

I think I need a vacation to recover from the long three-day holiday weekend.  :)

While everyone else was towing their boats and sea-doos to the lake, we were towing this little gem to our house:

There’s a reason this thing is called a Ditch Witch – it’s because she is wicked!  She looks pretty innocent and kind of gives you the impression that she’s going to do all of the work for you.  Do not be fooled!  She is misleading and manipulative, practically dragging you along with her as she tortures you.

There’s also a reason people pay other people to install sprinkler systems in their yards – it’s HARD work.  Mercy.

Barry started the installation and put in some of the sprinkler heads close to the house prior to this weekend.  We needed to finish the project and install the heads on the perimeter of the lawn.

Our yard is hard as a rock.  Well, it basically is rock.  We live at the base of a mountain and the soil is a mixture of rock and clay which makes digging by hand a long and arduous process.

I thought renting a trencher would make the job so much easier.  Oh, how wrong I was!  I’ll give her a little credit – the Ditch Witch can definitely dig some trenches.  But she does not like to be bossed around and has difficulty following directions, especially when you try to get her to turn.  It’s her way or the highway.

Thankfully, I am married to someone who would never dream of letting me touch this thing.  I doubt I could have done much with her even if I had tried.  I helped with raking the dirt back into the trenches after he dug the trenches and laid the pipe.

When I woke up yesterday morning, I didn’t think I was going to be able to get out of bed.  My back, arms, legs, feet, hands, and shoulders hurt.  Bad.  I felt like I had been run over by the Ditch Witch.  :)

Oh, did I mention it was the hottest weekend we’ve had all year??  It was in the mid-nineties all weekend.  What were we thinking???  Yes, mom, I took lots of breaks, drank a ton of water, and wore plenty of sunscreen so I didn’t get burned.  {grin}

There are two pieces of good news to come out of this:

  1. We finished the project and are now able to enjoy the sense of accomplishment that comes with triumphing over the Ditch Witch and installing a sprinkler system.
  2. Even though it was hard work and it was hotter than blue blazes, I was actually grateful to be doing it.  Six months ago, I wouldn’t have been able to work that hard.  Perspective is everything, right?

I am, however, seriously looking forward to going to work today.  I need some rest.  :)

Have a wonderful week!!
♥ Rachel

6 Responses to “I Think I Need a Vacation”

  1. The Savvy Sister May 29, 2012 at 7:46 am #

    Nice work Rachel! Here’s your excuse to get a massage

    • rachturner May 29, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

      Oh, girl. I needed a massage in the worst way. :)

  2. Kathy May 29, 2012 at 8:27 am #

    A tub of hot water with 2 cups of Epsom Salt for 20 minutes eases all the soreness. We get a jumbo size bucket at Sam’s. Couldn’t do without it around our house.

    • rachturner May 29, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

      I’ve never tried epsom salts, but I’ll have to remember that. Muscles feel pretty good today. A little stiffness, but not too bad.

  3. Tranquil Moments Photography May 29, 2012 at 9:01 am #

    Stubborn little witch isn’t she? At least you have the job done now :) Have a happy day and a happy week Rachel.

    • rachturner May 29, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

      Yep, Daphne – at least the job is done and everything works great!

Leave a Reply

